Montana State University

Nineteen high school seniors to receive MSU Presidential Scholarships

May 27, 2014 -- MSU News Service

Subscribe to MSU Newsletters

Bobcat Bulletin is a weekly e-newsletter designed to bring the most recent and relevant news about Montana State University directly to friends and neighbors via email. Visit Bobcat Bulletin.

MSU Today e-mail brings you news and events on campus thrice weekly during the academic year. Visit the MSU Today calendar.

MSU News Service
Tel: (406) 994-4571

BOZEMAN— Nineteen gifted high school seniors from across the nation, including 11 from Montana, were selected as recipients of the 2014 Presidential Scholarship, Montana State University’s most prestigious scholarship. 

“MSU continues to attract top academically ranked high school scholars and this year is no exception,” said Ilse-Mari Lee, dean of MSU’s Honors College. “We look forward to welcoming an inspirational cohort of incoming Presidential Scholars this fall.” 

The Presidential Scholarship awards are based on scholastic achievement, demonstrated leadership and exemplary public service. Recipients receive an annual stipend plus a tuition waiver. The scholarship is for four years if the students maintain superior academic standing at MSU.

“These students will be among our future Fulbright winners and the upcoming Goldwater scholars,” said Lee, referencing two prestigious national scholarships. “They will all undoubtedly impact our community, state and nation in meaningful ways.”

“The fact that so many choose Montana State is indicative of the quality of our programs,” said Ronda Russell, MSU’s admissions director.

“And to attract the Presidential Scholarship recipients says a lot about our amazing faculty and the opportunities we offer our undergraduates,” Russell said. 

“This year, we received 480 applications for the Presidential Scholarship alone. Many of these scholars have gained admittance and scholarships to other prestigious institutions and have chosen to attend MSU because of the quality of our programs and the opportunities available to our students,” Lee said. 

The 2014 MSU Presidential Scholarship recipients are:


Charlotte Brown is a graduate of Bozeman High School and the daughter of Nicholas Brown and Samantha Robitaille. She intends to major in civil engineering with a minor in Spanish.

Katherine Budeski is a Bozeman High School graduate and the daughter of Christopher and Sandra Budeski. She plans to major in human biology and biochemistry. 

Peter Crawford-Kahrl is a graduate of Bozeman High School and plans to major in physics and economics. He is the son of Kathleen Crawford and George Kahrl.

Erin Dockins, the daughter of Kristin Drumheller and William Dockins, is a graduate of Bozeman High School. She is planning on majoring in a science with a minor in humanities.

Jason Holmes is a graduate of Bozeman High School and plans to join Air Force ROTC and major in electrical engineering. He is the son of Jeffrey and Mary Ellen Holmes.

Cara Robertus is a graduate of Heritage Christian Academy and the daughter of Bryan and Margaret Robertus. A National Merit scholar and U.S. Presidential scholar semifinalist, she intends to major in chemical and biological engineering and minor in music.

Magdalena Russell is a graduate of Bozeman High School and the daughter of Ronda and James Russell. She will major in biological engineering.

Parker Webb is a 2013 graduate of Bozeman High School and spent the last year in Nepal working for a non-profit organization. He is the son of William and Elizabeth Webb and plans to study civil or mechanical engineering.


Aryn Phillips, daughter of Raymond and Susan Phillips, graduated from Flathead High School. She plans to study architecture and interior design.


Matthew Bain is a graduate of Hellgate High School and the son of George and Carrie Bain. He intends to major in chemical engineering.

Three Forks

Layne Oliver graduated form Three Forks High School. She is the daughter of William and Heidi Oliver and plans to major in mechanical engineering with a minor in Spanish.

Out of state recipients


Will Dumm is a graduate of Kodiak High School, in Kodiak, Alaska and the son of Donald and Susan Dumm. He plans to major in mechanical engineering.


Connor Hoffman graduated from Boise Senior High School in Boise, Idaho and plans to major in an engineering field. He is the son of Thomas and Amy Hoffman.


Caroline Kocha, daughter of Bart and Carol Kocha, is a graduate of Burlington High School in Burlington, Wisc. She plans to start as a general engineering student.


John Landers is a graduate of the San Dieguito Academy in Encinitas, Calif., and plans to major in mechanical engineering. He is the son of Gregg and Karen Landers of Carlsbad, Calif.


Gabrielle Law, a graduate of Earl Wooster High School in Reno, Nev., plans to major in biochemistry and cell biology and neuroscience. She is the daughter of David and Michelle Law.


Caroline Madill is a graduate and valedictorian of Mount Spokane High School in Meade, Wash. She is the daughter of Bruce and Teresa Madill and has not yet selected a major.

North Dakota

Kayla Olson is a graduate of Scranton High School and the daughter of Scott and Cristi Olson of Scranton, N.D. She is majoring in secondary education in the fields of English and social sciences.


Kristin Smith is a graduate of Squalicum High School in Bellingham, Wash. and plans to major in both geology and international affairs. She is the daughter of Craig and Kathryn Smith also of Bellingham, Wash.

Contact: Ilse-Mari Lee, (406) 994-4689,