Montana State University

MSU education, health and human development faculty, staff and students honored

May 14, 2015 -- MSU News Service

Subscribe to MSU Newsletters

Bobcat Bulletin is a weekly e-newsletter designed to bring the most recent and relevant news about Montana State University directly to friends and neighbors via email. Visit Bobcat Bulletin.

MSU Today e-mail brings you news and events on campus thrice weekly during the academic year. Visit the MSU Today calendar.

MSU News Service
Tel: (406) 994-4571

Six faculty members, four staff members, and 19 students from Montana State University’s College of Education, Health and Human Development were honored May 7 at the college’s annual recognition reception.

In the Department of Education, Sweeney Windchief received the Outstanding Teaching Award, Christine Stanton received the Outstanding Research Award and Joe Hicks received the Outstanding Service Award. In the Department of Health and Human Development, Cristen Wathen received the Outstanding Teaching Award, Holly Hunts received the Outstanding Service Award, and Jae Parks received the Outstanding Research Award.

Lynn Marlow received the EHHD Outstanding Classified Employee Award, Sara Browne received the Health and Human Development Outstanding Classified Employee Award and Maggie Secrest received the Education Outstanding Classified Employee Award. Elizabeth Hancock received the Outstanding Professional Employee Award.

Graduating seniors receiving awards are listed below by area of study:

Margaret Forslund, technology education; Courtney Zundel, elementary education; Matthew Wenger, secondary education; Justin Stilson, health and human performance; Madison Brown, family and consumer sciences; Alexa Silva, early childhood education/child services; Tracy Echert, health enhancement K-12; Jessica Hunter, community health; Megan Kuntz, food and nutrition; and Cassady Daley, sustainable food systems.

Outstanding graduate students recognized were Betsy Webb, adult and higher education; Alvera Cook, educational leadership; Todd Kesner, curriculum and instruction; Melissa Frost, counseling; Becky Quigley, exercise and nutrition sciences; Sloane Real Bird, family and community health sciences; Kate Bates, sustainable food systems; and Paul Stouffer, family financial planning.

Jake Bleskin received the Barbara Miller Award for outstanding student in health enhancement K-12 student teaching.

Contact: Deb Redburn, (406) 994-6890 or