Montana State University

MSU students and mentors honored with annual Awards for Excellence

February 17, 2016 -- From MSU News Service

Subscribe to MSU Newsletters

Bobcat Bulletin is a weekly e-newsletter designed to bring the most recent and relevant news about Montana State University directly to friends and neighbors via email. Visit Bobcat Bulletin.

MSU Today e-mail brings you news and events on campus thrice weekly during the academic year. Visit the MSU Today calendar.

MSU News Service
Tel: (406) 994-4571

Forty of Montana State University’s top seniors and their faculty and staff mentors were recognized Tuesday, Feb. 16, at the 34th annual Awards for Excellence banquet held on the MSU campus.

The MSU Alumni Association and the Bozeman Chamber of Commerce co-hosted the banquet. Honored students were nominated by faculty in their college or department. Qualified seniors must have at least a 3.5 grade point average on a 4.0 scale, as well as demonstrated campus leadership and community service.

The award-winning students each selected a mentor who was honored with them at the event.

The 2016 Excellence Award winners and their mentors, listed by their college, name, major, hometown and mentor, are:

College of Agriculture
Emma Bode, geospatial and environmental analysis, Jackson Hole, Wyoming, Tony Hartshorn
Kamron Ratzburg, animal science, Galata, Montana, Rebecca Mattix
Alexandra Thornton, sustainable food and bioenergy systems, San Luis Obispo, California, Fabian Menalled

College of Arts and Architecture
Jonathan Chavez-Mercado, environmental design, Cody, Wyoming, Chris Livingston
Melissa Dawn, studio arts, sculpture and printmaking, Aiken, South Carolina, Gesine Janzen
Jaimie Hensley Frontin, music technology, Billings, Montana, Linda Antas
Andrew Major, music, cell biology and neuroscience, Bozeman, Montana, Ilse-Mari Lee

Jake Jabs College of Business and Entrepreneurship
Lauren Buechler, business accounting, Malta, Montana, Linda Ward
Sonja Jacobson, business marketing, Hayden, Idaho, Tammy Machowicz-Olsztyn
Mackenzie Mahon, business management, Wenatchee, Washington, F. William Brown
Katya Peterson, business management, Helena, Montana, Lenka Beranova

College of Education, Health and Human Development
Derrick Criner, elementary education, Kalispell, Montana, Kathryn Will-Dubyak
Haley Parker, food and nutrition, Palantine, Illinois, Melody Anacker
Kathryn Riley, health and human performance-exercise science, Broadus, Montana, Tracy Krushensky
Logan Shrader, family and consumer sciences, Butte, Montana, Sandra Osborne
Haley Swank, elementary education, Chinook, Montana, Ann Ellsworth

College of Engineering
Clint Cooper, computer science, Polson, Montana, Mike Wittie
Jacqueline Elliot, mechanical engineering, Billings, Montana, Peter Fields
Dylan Erwin, mechanical engineering, Lake Oswego, Oregon, Erick Johnson
Mark Jensen, civil engineering, Missoula, Montana, Michael Berry
Sarah Juedeman, electrical engineering, Bellaire, Texas, James Becker
Kathryn Pintar, chemical engineering, Spokane, Washington, Ross Carlson
Jess Pummel, industrial engineering, Bozeman, Montana, William Schell
John Ryter, mechanical engineering, Hamilton, Montana, Roberta Amendola
Laura Tochko, civil engineering, Issaquah, Washington, Adrienne Phillips
Michael Venters, chemical engineering, Polson, Montana, Jeffrey Heys

Honors College
Jenna Pinto, cell biology and neuroscience, Hispanic studies, Littleton, Colorado, Sam McColley
Riley Shearer, chemical engineering, Lake Oswego, Oregon, Mark Anderson

College of Letters and Science
Patrick Cole, chemistry and biochemistry, Camden, Maine, Mary Cloud Ammons
Danielle Hanger, psychology, Belgrade, Montana, Keith Hutchison
Brigit Noon, biochemistry, Fairbanks, Alaska, Brian Bothner
Alex Paterson, economics, Salt Lake City, Wendy Stock
Julia Platt, mathematical sciences – statistics, Helena, Montana, Lisa Davis
Alyssa Price, history, Everett, Washington, Mary Murphy
Coleen Trottier, psychology, Great Falls, Montana, Suzanne Christopher
Cassia Wagner, chemistry and biochemistry, Whitefish, Montana, Mark Young
Montana Wilson, political science and economics, Poplar, Montana, Wendy Stock

College of Nursing
Katie Hogemark, nursing, Big Timber, Montana, Janet Smith
Evan Thompson, nursing, Great Falls, Montana, Susan Luparell
Karen Thornburg, nursing, Missoula, Montana, Carolyn Mack

Contact: Natalie Michajla, assistant director of alumni relations, MSU Alumni Foundation, (406) 994-5464 or; or Kerry Hanson, vice president of alumni relations, MSU Alumni Foundation, (406) 994-7620 or