Montana State University

Thirteen MSU students receive Students of Achievement awards

April 13, 2016 -- MSU News Service

Thirteen Montana State University students were recently honored with 2016 Students of Achievement awards at the university’s 24th annual Women’s History Month reception. The students are, from left to right: Coleen Trottier, Emily Stoick, Griffin Ruehl, Darby Lacey, Karli Kusler, Rose Dormanen, Danielle Hanger, Jenny Porter, Julie Theis, Ryan Erickson, Alex Paterson, Molly Wright. Not pictured: Casey Sullivan. Photo courtesy of MSUAF.

High-Res Available

Subscribe to MSU Newsletters

Bobcat Bulletin is a weekly e-newsletter designed to bring the most recent and relevant news about Montana State University directly to friends and neighbors via email. Visit Bobcat Bulletin.

MSU Today e-mail brings you news and events on campus thrice weekly during the academic year. Visit the MSU Today calendar.

MSU News Service
Tel: (406) 994-4571

Thirteen Montana State University students were recently honored with 2016 Students of Achievement awards at the university’s 24th annual Women’s History Month reception.

The event was sponsored by the MSU Women’s Center and the MSU Alumni Foundation.

Students of Achievement are selected based on excellence in promoting diversity and equality, demonstration of strong leadership and service as exemplary role models for their peers.

This year’s recipients are:

  • Rose Dormanen—senior psychology major/women’s, gender and sexuality studies minor
  • Ryan Erickson—senior psychology major
  • Danielle Hanger—senior cell biology and neuroscience/psychology double major
  • Karli Kusler—senior political science and international relations major/women’s, gender and sexuality studies minor
  • Darby Lacey—senior English literature major/biochemistry minor, honors degree
  • Alexander Paterson—senior economics major
  • Jennifer Porter—senior family and consumer sciences, non-teaching major
  • Griffin Ruehl—senior chemical engineering/liberal studies major, focusing on global and multicultural studies, honors degree
  • Emily Stoick—senior civil engineering major, bio-resources option/Hispanic studies minor
  • Casey Sullivan—senior global and multicultural studies major/French minor
  • Julie Theis—senior psychology major/women’s, gender and sexuality studies minor
  • Coleen Trottier—senior Latin America/Latino studies/psychology/Hispanic studies major
  • Molly Wright—senior English major, writing option

In addition to their studies, the students have all been active in research and volunteer work relating to the core issues and goals of the Women’s Center, as well as their individual fields of study.

“The Students of Achievement program is truly one of my favorites,” said Betsy Danforth, long-time director of the MSU Women’s Center. “The awards provide a wonderful way to meet and recognize the many students who are engaging issues of gender, equality and social justice on a daily basis, in both the university community and the world at large, in order to promote positive change. Their work exemplifies our mission of educating the public on these issues, and it is our great pleasure to recognize and honor these outstanding individuals.”

The MSU Women’s Center is part of the Division of Student Success. Its goal is to engage the general university population in the conversation about women’s, gender and identity issues, to respond to the needs of university women and to empower women generally, across campus and in the world at large. They welcome the input of and involvement of both women and men.

The MSUAF, made up of the MSU Alumni Association and the MSU Foundation, works to create relationships and strengthen resources for the advancement of the university. Both groups work to support and celebrate MSU alumni and encourage financial support of the entire MSU community.

Contact: Betsy Danforth, MSU Women’s Center, (406) 994-3836 or