Montana State University

MSU students and mentors to be honored with annual Awards for Excellence

February 21, 2017 -- From MSU News Service

Subscribe to MSU Newsletters

Bobcat Bulletin is a weekly e-newsletter designed to bring the most recent and relevant news about Montana State University directly to friends and neighbors via email. Visit Bobcat Bulletin.

MSU Today e-mail brings you news and events on campus thrice weekly during the academic year. Visit the MSU Today calendar.

MSU News Service
Tel: (406) 994-4571

Forty of Montana State University’s top seniors and their faculty and staff mentors will be recognized Tuesday, Feb. 21, at the 35th annual Awards for Excellence banquet held on the MSU campus.

The MSU Alumni Foundation and the Bozeman Area Chamber of Commerce co-host the banquet.  Honored students are nominated by faculty in their college or department.  Qualified seniors must have at least a 3.5 grade point average on a 4.0 scale, as well as demonstrated campus leadership and community service. 

The honored students each select a mentor who will be recognized with them at the event. 

The 2017 Excellence Award winners and their mentors, listed by their college, name, major, hometown and mentor are:

College of Agriculture
Kaitlyn Goroski, agricultural education and animal science, Wibaux; Shannon Arnold
Connor Mertz, environmental sciences soil and water, Kutztown, Pennsylvania; Tony Hartshorn
Alyssa Riley, animal science and preveterinary medicine, Volborg; Rebecca Mattix
Isaac Stafstrom, science livestock management and industry, Madison, Wisconsin; Patrick Hatfield
Mariah Young, animal science and preveterinary medicine, Belgrade; Jane Ann Boles

College of Arts and Architecture
William Harning, studio arts, Allen Park, Michigan; Jeremy Hatch
Gramme Sowell, film and photography, Bozeman; Carina Beck
Elly Usick, environmental design, Denver; Rachael Ortego

Jake Jabs College of Business and Entrepreneurship
Kellen Bates, business finance, Kalispell; Jared Burnham
Haley Blodgett, business management and marketing, Golden, Colorado; Jerry Carvalho
Suzanne George, business accounting and finance, Princeton, New Jersey; Steven Ault
Kelby Janicek, business management and accounting, Helena; Robyn Chupka

College of Education, Health and Human Development
Larry Bratke, elementary education, Bozeman; Joe Hicks
Imashi Fernando, food and nutrition, Malabe, Sri Lanka; Melody Anacker
Lauren Hausauer, elementary education, Bozeman; Ann Ellsworth
Megan Peterson, family and consumer sciences, Joliet; Sandra Osborne

College of Engineering
Carol Baumbauer, electrical engineering, Bozeman; Wataru Nakagawa
Ashley Bertrand, computer science, Billings; John Paxton
Matthew Campbell, civil engineering, Juneau, Alaska; Chris Allen
Michelle Dworkin, mechanical engineering, Fort Collins, Colorado; Jennifer Clark
Jourdon Gudatis, mechanical engineering, Great Falls; Mark Owkes
Rachel Gunnink, chemical engineering, Bozeman; Erin Macdonald-Peck
Bradley Jones, civil engineering and bio-resources engineering, Kalispell; Thomas Donovan
MacKenzie O’Bleness, computer science, Idaho Falls, Idaho; Clemente Izurieta
Esther Oloff, chemical and biological engineering, Idaho Falls, Idaho; Alyson Roberts
Kelly Walls, mechanical engineering, Redmond, Washington; Paul Gannon

Honors College
Aaron Benson, mechanical engineering, Rapid City, South Dakota; Ilse-Mari Lee
Zane Huttinga, mathematics, Manhattan, Montana; Bree Cummins

College of Letters and Science
Anna Avidan, biochemistry, Eugene, Oregon; Chris Bahn
Sarah Coldiron, history and French, Boise, Idaho; Ada Giusti
Peter Crawford-Kahrl, mathematics and physics, Bozeman; Bree Cummins
April Francis, political science, Boise, Idaho; Eric Austin
Megan Meyer, biochemistry, Bozeman; Jovanka Voyich-Kane
Heather Olson, anthropology and sociology, Helena; Kelly Knight
Lisa Schmall, psychology and kinesiology, Silverdale, Washington; Rebecca Brooker
Marisa Sewell, cell biology and neuroscience, Missoula; Diane Bimczok
Riley Shearer, economics, chemical engineering and biochemistry, Lake Oswego, Oregon; Mark Anderson

College of Nursing
Catherine Coe, nursing, Missoula; Dorothy (Dale) Mayer
Laura Owen, nursing, Whitefish; Dena Geiger
Sadie Sampson, nursing, Glendive; Ronda Bales

Contact: Michelle Laxson, associate director of the alumni association, MSU Alumni Foundation, (406) 994-4191 or; or Kerry Hanson, vice president of alumni relations, MSU Alumni Foundation, (406) 994-7620 or