Montana State University

Engineering students each receive $3,500 Gilhousen scholarship

March 16, 2005 -- from MSU News Service

Gilhousen scholarship winners and presenters include (left to right) Richard Wolff, the Gilhousen Chair, Mackenzie Wilz, Nathan Greenfield, Josephine Daggett, Andrew Lingley, Rianon Tiensvold, Erwin Dunbar and Klein Gilhousen. Scholarship recipients Steven Honig, Jon Moberley, Kelly Wright and Charlie Keith are not pictured.   High-Res Available

Subscribe to MSU Newsletters

Bobcat Bulletin is a weekly e-newsletter designed to bring the most recent and relevant news about Montana State University directly to friends and neighbors via email. Visit Bobcat Bulletin.

MSU Today e-mail brings you news and events on campus thrice weekly during the academic year. Visit the MSU Today calendar.

MSU News Service
Tel: (406) 994-4571
Bozeman, Mont.-- Ten Montana State University students studying electrical and computer engineering have received Gilhousen scholarships. The students selected for the distinction have outstanding academic records. Each received a $3,500 scholarship for the academic year 2004-2005.

In 2001, Karen and Klein Gilhousen gave $5 million to establish the Gilhousen Telecommunications Endowed Chair and Gilhousen Scholarships for the electrical and computer engineering department. Gilhousen is the cofounder and vice president of the Fortune 500 company Qualcomm, Inc., and he holds 63 U.S. patents.

The Bozeman couple actively serves the university on advisory boards for the College of Engineering, electrical and computer engineering department and the Burns Telecommunications Center at MSU.

Scholarship winners, listed by hometown:

Erwin Dunbar, sophomore, computer engineering
Nathan Greenfield, junior, computer engineering

Fort Benton
Jon Moberley, sophomore, computer engineering (awarded $1,750 for 2004 fall semester only)

Josephine Daggett, senior, electrical engineering

Rianon Tiensvold, junior, electrical engineering

Miles City
Charlie Keith, sophomore, electrical engineering

Highlands Ranch, Colo.
Kelly Wright, senior, computer engineering

Bismarck, N.D.
Mackenzie Wilz, sophomore, computer engineering

Los Alamos, N.M.
Steven Honig, senior, computer engineering

Olympia, Wash.
Andrew Lingley, junior, electrical engineering

Contact Linda Wyckoff 406/994-2223