Montana State University

Thirty-nine MSU seniors win Awards for Excellence

February 20, 2008 -- MSU News Service

Subscribe to MSU Newsletters

Bobcat Bulletin is a weekly e-newsletter designed to bring the most recent and relevant news about Montana State University directly to friends and neighbors via email. Visit Bobcat Bulletin.

MSU Today e-mail brings you news and events on campus thrice weekly during the academic year. Visit the MSU Today calendar.

MSU News Service
Tel: (406) 994-4571
Thirty-nine of Montana State University's top seniors and their faculty or staff mentors were recognized Tuesday, Feb. 19, at the 26th annual Awards for Excellence Banquet held in the SUB ballrooms.

The MSU Alumni Association and the Bozeman Chamber of Commerce sponsored the banquet. Honored students were nominated by faculty in their college or department. Qualified seniors must have a 3.5 grade point average on a 4.0 scale as well as demonstrated campus leadership and community service.

In turn, the award-winning students each selected a mentor who was honored with them at the event.

The 2008 Excellence Award winners and their mentors are:


College of Agriculture:
Nicole Meyer, biotechnology animal systems/Rebecca Mattix
Amy Plummer, agricultural education/Tom Eitel

College of Arts and Architecture:
Sarah Berwald, environmental design/Michael Everts
Jessica Burch, graphic design and marketing/Laura Black
Aspen Hougen, media and theatre arts/Gwendolyn Morgan
Felicia Reynolds, graphic design/Stephanie Newman
Brady Turk, media and theatre arts/Ian van Coller

College of Business:
Jacquelyn Bodfish, business management/Gary Bishop
Nathan Deibert, business accounting/Dennis Schmidt
Daniel Huffman, business management/Jerry Carvalho
Fraiser Opel, business accounting/Ilse-Mari Lee
Emily Quinn, business accounting/Mary Ann Jacobsen
Karoline Teien, business management/Susan Dana

College of Education, Health and Human Development
Meriah Cory, elementary education/Laura Massey
Cristin Forbes, health and human development/Alison Harmon
Timothea Lapham, heatlh and human development/Sandy Osborne
Whitney Prosor, elementary education/Joyce Herbeck

College of Engineering:
Don Brockett, mechanical engineering/Ruhul Amin
Elisabeth Brown, civil engineering and math/Joel Cahoon
Elisabeth Driscoll, mechanical engineering and German/Theodore Lang
Brock Hedegaard, civil engineering/Anders Larsson
Patrick Kujawa, computer engineering and physics/Brock LaMeres
Ian Lake, computer science and physics/John Paxton
Jay Rutherford, chemical and biological engineering/Joseph Seymour
Nina Smith, electrical engineering/Heidi Sherick

College of Letters and Science:
Tara Alley, Spanish and English/Amy Thomas
Stephenie Davison, cell biology and neuroscience/Greg Francis
Jessica Gausman, political science/Carmen McSpadden
Padgett Hoke, economics/Robert Fleck
Tory Lodmell, history/Billy Smith
Peter Gamberg, snow sciences/William Locke
Daniel McAllister, cell biology and neuroscience/Susan Gibson
Tyler Naibert, physics/Charles Kankelborg
Luke Oltrogge, chemistry/Trevor Douglas
Sadie Tynes, English and history/religious studies/Lynda Sexson

Liberal Studies:
David Ude, liberal studies/Stephen Versaevel

Ann Allard, nursing/Barb Prescott
Ruby Ingebritson, nursing/Nadine Parker
Elizabeth Mandell, nursing/Steve Glow

Kerry Hanson, 994-7620 or