Montana State University

Montana Space Grant Consortium awards $132,000 to students

July 16, 2008 -- From MSU News Service

Subscribe to MSU Newsletters

Bobcat Bulletin is a weekly e-newsletter designed to bring the most recent and relevant news about Montana State University directly to friends and neighbors via email. Visit Bobcat Bulletin.

MSU Today e-mail brings you news and events on campus thrice weekly during the academic year. Visit the MSU Today calendar.

MSU News Service
Tel: (406) 994-4571
BOZEMAN -- Twenty-two college students have received scholarships from the Montana Space Grant Consortium for the upcoming school year. Another six received full- or half-year fellowships.

Altogether, the consortium awarded $132,000 to students pursuing science and engineering at one of the 19 Montana colleges and universities in the consortium. A grant from NASA provided the funds.

Three out-of-state students who attend or will attend graduate school at Montana State University or the University of Montana received full-year fellowships of $15,000 each plus in-state tuition and fees. Three out-of-state students who attend or will attend graduate school at MSU received half-year fellowships of $7,500 each plus in-state tuition and fees.

Montana students who received $1,500 scholarships are listed below with their home town, year in school, major and institution they attend or will attend.

Billings: Katherine A. Kitchen, junior, psychology, Rocky Mountain College
Jon Laurent, senior, molecular biology, MSU-Billinsg

Box Elder: Ron Chandler, junior, natural resources/forestry, Stone Child College

Bozeman: Alaina Garcia, senior, mechanical engineering, MSU

Browning: Martin Lorenzo, sophomore, civil engineering technology, MSU-Northern

Butte: Josh Wold, senior, electrical engineering, Montana Tech

Clancy: Ben Dunham, senior, computer science/math, Carroll College

Columbia Falls: Thomas Klein, freshman, computer sciences, Flathead Valley Community College

Crow Agency: Curtis RidesHorse, junior, environmental health, Little Big Horn College

Cut Bank: James Durka, freshman, computer sciences, Blackfeet Community College

Ekalaka: Amanda Kortum, sophomore, biology, University of Montana - Western.

Glendive: Dan Gavinsky, sophomore, mechanical engineering, Dawson Community College

Great Falls: Jessica Ostrom, junior, forensic science, University of Great Falls

Havre: Jayson Nissen, sophomore, physics and mathematics, MSU

Lodge Grass: LaDawn PlainFeather, junior, pre-med/biochemistry, UM

Polson: Sean Shriner, junior, computer engineering, Salish Kootenai College

Redstone: Jamie Gatz, senior, ag operations technology, MSU-Northern

Ronan: James Greene, junior, computer science/info technology, Salish Kootenai College

West Yellowstone: Jeremy Hostetter, junior, physics and astronomy, UM

Evelyn Boswell, (406) 994-5135 or