Montana State University

Forty MSU seniors win Awards for Excellence

February 16, 2009 -- MSU News Service

To view a slideshow highlighting some of the award-winning students, follow this link: 2009 Award of Excellence Slideshow   High-Res Available

Subscribe to MSU Newsletters

Bobcat Bulletin is a weekly e-newsletter designed to bring the most recent and relevant news about Montana State University directly to friends and neighbors via email. Visit Bobcat Bulletin.

MSU Today e-mail brings you news and events on campus thrice weekly during the academic year. Visit the MSU Today calendar.

MSU News Service
Tel: (406) 994-4571
Forty of Montana State University's top seniors and their faculty or staff mentors will be recognized Tuesday, Feb. 17, at the 27th annual Awards for Excellence banquet to be held in the SUB ballrooms.

The MSU Alumni Association and the Bozeman Chamber of Commerce will co-sponsor the banquet. Honored students are nominated by faculty in their college or department. Qualified seniors must have a 3.5 grade point average on a 4.0 scale as well as demonstrated campus leadership and community service.

In turn, the award-winning students each selected a mentor who will be honored with them at the event.

The 2009 Excellence Award winners and their mentors are:


College of Agriculture:
James Brown, economics and agribusiness management/Randal Rucker
Samuel Jensen, ag operations technology/Martin Frick
Alana Schlosser, plant biotechnology/Mike Giroux

College of Arts and Architecture:
Kelsey Dzintars, graphic design/Jeffrey Conger
Matthew K. Iba, music education/Shuichi Komiyama
Marci Mudd, media and theatre arts, motion picture option/Tom Watson
Heber Slabbert, environmental design/Steven Juroszek
Emily Van Court, environmental design/Heath "Tad" Bradley

College of Business:
Jackie Art, business management and finance/Greg Durham
Christopher Baldus, business finance/Greg Durham
Mara Hoefer, business marketing/Dave Foster
Austin Owens, business finance/Gary Caton

College of Education, Health and Human Development:
Lea Castor, elementary education/Lynn Kelting-Gibson
Rebecca Rabenberg, food and nutrition/Melody Anacker
Michelle San Souci, elementary education/Bryce Carpenter
Brittney Wadsworth, food and nutrition/Melody Anacker

College of Engineering:
Kelsi L. Canavan, mechanical engineering/Heidi Sherick
Erwin "Dan" Dunbar, computer engineering/David Dickensheets
Eric J. Moog, electrical engineering/Steven Shaw
Victoria Morefield, chemical and biological engineering/Abigail Richards
Drew J. Nash, mechanical engineering technology/Dave Foster
Heidi G. Tynes, computer science/Denbigh Starkey
Jonathan Robert Weaver, civil engineering/Robert Mokwa

College of Letters and Science:
Deborah Albin, sociology/Susanne Monahan
Raima Amin, cell biology and neuroscience/Gary Strobel
Matthew Beamer, mathematics and French/Christopher Pinet
Eli Dean, mathematics/Russell Walker
Clarissa Ivie A. English, psychology and Spanish/Carmen McSpadden
Kristin Marino, ag economics/Wendy Stock
Nathan Martin, physics/Berk Knighton
Taylor Moorman, English literature/Amy Thomas
Nathaniel Park, chemistry, environmental science, and University Honors/Hien Nguyen
Claire Rennie, biomedical sciences/Ilse-Mari Lee
Bovard Tiberi, mathematics and computer science/Rockford Ross

University College:
Kristen Huot, liberal studies/Leah Schmalzbauer
Catherine P. Petriccione, liberal studies and German/Patricia Simpson

Elizabeth Balleweg,nursing/Christine Muskett
Kimberly Bergey, nursing/Janet Smith
Taubi Hecht, nursing/Cynthia Hermes

At-Large nomination:
Elliott Barnhart, microbiology/Jeff Bondy

To see other honorees from the Awards for Excellence banquet visit:
MSU awards two students 'Torley' awards for community involvement

MSU honors two local businesspeople with 2009 Community Excellence Awards