Montana State University

Montana high school graduates win MSU's top scholarship

June 15, 2009

Subscribe to MSU Newsletters

Bobcat Bulletin is a weekly e-newsletter designed to bring the most recent and relevant news about Montana State University directly to friends and neighbors via email. Visit Bobcat Bulletin.

MSU Today e-mail brings you news and events on campus thrice weekly during the academic year. Visit the MSU Today calendar.

MSU News Service
Tel: (406) 994-4571
Seven of Montana's most gifted high school seniors were selected as recipients of the 2009 Presidential Scholarships, Montana State University's most prestigious scholarship. Awards are based on scholastic achievement, demonstrated leadership and personal qualities.

Recipients of Presidential Scholarships receive an annual award of a $2,500 stipend plus a tuition waiver. The scholarship is renewable for four years based on maintaining superior academic standing at MSU.

MSU Presidential Scholarships are funded, in part, by individual donors who provide gifts to the Presidential Scholarship Endowment.

The 2009 Presidential Scholarship recipients from Montana, their intended major and their high school are:

Karsen Cullen, biochemistry, Bozeman High School
Johnson Turner, film and photography, Mount Ellis Academy

Micayla Lakey, engineering,Chester-Joplin-Inverness High School

Deer Lodge:
Erin Ryan, civil engineering, Powell County High School

Breanna Holmes, English education, Hamilton High School

Matthew Schwagerr, film and photography, Glacier High School

Alyssa Hjelvik, pre-health, Melstone High School

Mike Miles (406) 994-4732,