Montana State University

NASA awards 25 students attending Montana schools

June 16, 2009 -- From MSU News Service

Subscribe to MSU Newsletters

Bobcat Bulletin is a weekly e-newsletter designed to bring the most recent and relevant news about Montana State University directly to friends and neighbors via email. Visit Bobcat Bulletin.

MSU Today e-mail brings you news and events on campus thrice weekly during the academic year. Visit the MSU Today calendar.

MSU News Service
Tel: (406) 994-4571
BOZEMAN --Twenty-five students who attend Montana colleges and universities have together received more than $143,500 in NASA scholarships and graduate research fellowships for the 2009-10 school year.

The money was awarded by two NASA programs -- the Montana Space Grant Consortium and the EPSCoR program. Ten of the recipients attend Montana State University, five attend the University of Montana, two each attend Rocky Mountain College and Montana Tech, and one each attend Fort Belknap College, Carroll College, UM-Western, University of Great Falls, Salish Kootenai College and MSU in Billings.

Nine of the awards are full or half-year fellowships to graduate students conducting research projects that relate to NASA. Projects range from neutron stars to the Clark Fork River system. A full-year fellowship amounts to approximately $22,000.

Sixteen of the awards are undergraduate scholarships, which can be used as the recipient chooses. A full scholarship amounts to $1,500 a year.

Recipients of the Montana Space Grant Consortium Fellowships, their home towns, disciplines and schools are:
Boyd -- Joseph Plowman, physics, MSU.
Butte -- Christopher Kellogg, geophysical engineering, Montana Tech.
Missoula -- Daniel West, geology, UM.
Homer, Alaska -- Ingrid Abrahamson, earth sciences, MSU.
Calhan, Colo. -- Trista Vick, ecology and environmental sciences, MSU.
Worcester, Mass. -- Kerry Neal, electrical engineering, MSU.
Omaha, Neb. -- Daniel Schwendtner, mechanical engineering, MSU.
Fredricksburg, Va. -- Shane Nowack, mathematics, MSU

Recipient of a NASA EPSCoR Graduate Research Fellowship is Steven Price of Silver Spring, Md., physics, MSU.

Montana Space Grant Scholarship recipients, with their home towns, disciplines and schools, are:
Anaconda -- Jessica Ostrom, forensic chemistry, University of Great Falls
Billings -- David Souther, computer science, Rocky Mountain College
Bozeman -- Alaina Garcia, mechanical engineering, MSU
Ekalaka -- Amanda Kortum, biology, UM-Western
Fort Shaw -- Jennifer Hane, electrical engineering, MSU
Harlem -- Kim Barrows, computer information systems, Fort Belknap College
Laurel -- Steven Shoen, physics, MSU-Billings
Missoula -- Devin Lake, general engineering, Montana Tech; Dan Molgaard, astrophysics, UM; and Ryan Schmitt, physics/astronomy, UM.
Park City -- Christine Jones, biology/psychology, Rocky Mountain College
Polson -- Sean Shriner, computer engineering, Salish Kootenai College
Fresno, Calif. -- Timothy Brox, physics, MSU
Idaho Falls, Idaho -- Douglas Brinkerhoff, geosciences, UM
Indianapolis -- Ronald Powell, physics/astronomy/math, UM
Kent, Wash. -- Scott Harmon, math, Carroll College

Evelyn Boswell at (406) 994-5135 or