Montana State University

Computer ensemble concert set Feb. 7 at MSU

January 15, 2010

Subscribe to MSU Newsletters

Bobcat Bulletin is a weekly e-newsletter designed to bring the most recent and relevant news about Montana State University directly to friends and neighbors via email. Visit Bobcat Bulletin.

MSU Today e-mail brings you news and events on campus thrice weekly during the academic year. Visit the MSU Today calendar.

MSU News Service
Tel: (406) 994-4571
"Digital Sunrise of the New Era," a concert of new works for computer ensembles performed across three time zones, is set at 7:30 p.m. Sunday, Feb. 7, in Montana State University's Reynolds Recital Hall.

The LAG laptop quartet, a group of composers and musicians from Mills College in Oakland, Calif., will perform a concert of audio/visual network music simultaneously from MSU, Mills College and the United Kingdom. Each piece will be performed live via sending network messages over the Internet.

The concert will feature live-coding, game-like systems, chaotic feedback, ethereal harmonies, and more. The music of LAG laptop quartet is derived from experimentalism, the fusion or games and art, network collaboration, and using computers as a means of creating art that would otherwise be impossible. LAG member Cole Ingraham will be at MSU for the performance and Curtis McKinney will perform with the quarter in the U.K.

LAG will also team up with MSU's Electric Monster Laptop Ensemble for a special large group collaboration.

"From across 3 different time zones comes a performance which knows no bounds," said Hsiao-Lan Wang, MSU music professor and director of the Electric Monster Laptop Ensemble.

Concert admission is free admission. Donations will be gladly accepted but are not required.

The concert is sponsored by the Music Technology Program at MSU's Department of Music. For more information, contact Wang at 994-5743.

Hsiao-Lan Wang at 994-5743