Montana State University

Montana mayors attend educational forum

March 21, 2011 -- MSU News Service

Subscribe to MSU Newsletters

Bobcat Bulletin is a weekly e-newsletter designed to bring the most recent and relevant news about Montana State University directly to friends and neighbors via email. Visit Bobcat Bulletin.

MSU Today e-mail brings you news and events on campus thrice weekly during the academic year. Visit the MSU Today calendar.

MSU News Service
Tel: (406) 994-4571
Thirty-seven Montana mayors convened in Helena March 9-10 for the Montana Mayors Forum.

The MSU Local Government Center and the Montana Municipal Interlocal Authority provided training on interlocal agreements in law enforcement, supervision of employees, working with the media, community technical assistance regarding growth plans, zoning, annexation and a legislative update.

"This year's Mayors Forum was reviewed highly by the mayors," said Betsy Webb, associate director of the MSU Local Government Center. "The interactive discussions on complex issues facing Montana allow mayors to share what they have learned in their municipalities and to learn from other mayors who may have gone through a similar process in their city or town."

Montana mayors who attended the forum were:

Russ Nelson (Belgrade), Tom Hanel (Billings), Gary Craft (Boulder), Jay Dunckel (Choteau), Alice Hartman (Clyde Park), John Williams (Colstrip), John Shevlin (Conrad), Doug Embody (Cut Bank), Susan Fleshman (Dutton), John Clark (Ennis), Ethel White (Eureka), Lillian Alfson (Fairfield), Brad Matteson (Forsyth), Daniel Carney (Glasgow), Jerry Jimison (Glendive), Michael Winters (Great Falls), William Taylor (Harlem), Tim Solomon (Havre), Ken Olson (Laurel), David Olsen (Lima), Joe Whalen (Miles City), Anne Fillmore (Philipsburg), Pat DeVries (Polson), Greg Norgaard (Poplar), Brian Roat (Red Lodge), Howard Pippin (Saco), Ronald Audet (Scobey), Larry Bonderud (Shelby), Lewis Barnett (Stevensville), Michael Wood (Superior), Gary Iverson (Sunburst), Carla Parks (Thompson Falls), Gene Townsend (Three Forks), Donald Banning (Troy), Pierre Martineau (West Yellowstone), Julian Theriault (White Sulphur Springs), Mary Janacaro-Hensleigh (Whitehall)

The MSU Local Government Center provides training, technical assistance and research services to elected, appointed and administrative officials. It supports Montana's cities, towns and counties by partnering with local government practitioners and their professional associations.

Jennifer Blessum at (406) 994-6694 or