From the university’s beginning 130 years ago, the women of Montana State University made remarkable contributions to the status of women at the institution, in the state and across the country. They included such women as the first Dean of Women, who taught women skills to promote their financial independence in the 1920s or the group who challenged gender pay inequities in the 1970s.

In 2018, the MSU President’s Commission on the Status of University Women – formed by MSU’s first female president – recognized Montana State University's 125 Extraordinary Ordinary Women and their work towards the discovery and elimination of institutional barriers to the success of women.

In 2023, MSU's Office of the President with support from the Office of Diversity & Inclusion will recognize the 130 Extraordinary Ordinary Women of Montana State University. To do this, in November 2022, we solicited nominations for five additional Extraordinary Ordinary Women of Montana State University. 

 Selection Criteria:

  • Affiliation with Montana State University
  • Had an impact on the status of women
  • Has inspired others by their example
  • Has not been previously honored as an MSU Extraordinary Ordinary Woman.

We had over 100 nominations for five spots!

Five new ‘extraordinary, ordinary’ women to be honored at Montana State University

December 1, 2022 - Five additional “extraordinary, ordinary” women were chosen to celebrate MSU's 130th anniversary: Ann Ellsworth, Alma Knows His Gun McCormick, Celia O’Connor, Martha Potvin and Sarah Vowell.

These women will be honored with a luncheon onThursday, February 16, 2023, which is MSU Founders Day and MSU’s 130th anniversary.