Dear Faculty Senators and Colleagues:

We welcome you to the 2017-18 academic year and invite your participation in the important work of shared governance at MSU-Bozeman.

The Faculty Senate is composed of representatives from each academic department, the Library, the Agricultural Research Centers, and the Agricultural Extension Service. Faculty Senate is the chief governance body of the faculty at Montana State University-Bozeman. Under the governance authority of the Montana University System, the Faculty Senate frames policies, procedures and standards of the Faculty Handbook, oversees the curricula, evaluates new academic programs, and serves to enhance communication between MSU faculty, administration, and students.

We recognize the importance of shared governance at MSU and are committed to further developing a dynamic participative governance process that actively solicits input, advice and perspectives from university stakeholders and to work together in a collaborative environment with the institution’s administrative leadership regarding campus issues, policies, and procedures that impact the direction of the university.


Michael Babcock, Ph.D.

Abigail Richards, Ph.D.


Faculty Handbook Review

Proposed Retention, Tenure, and Promotion Documents

Note: Faculty up for retention, tenure, and promotion review in Fall of 2017 will continue to follow the standards and procedures that are currently in place, which are the Faculty Handbook.

Faculty Handbook Related Documents 

For reference: 


Workload Policy and Plan Documents for reference:



Academic Items Under Faculty Senate Consideration or Vote


    Undergraduate Courses 


    Undergraduate Course Changes


Undergraduate Course Deactivation

    Undergraduate Programs 



    Graduate School Courses 

    Graduate Programs


  •  None at this time


  • None at this time.