Barnard Hall


The University Facilities Planning Board serves in an advisory capacity to the President and will hear, review, and make recommendations on items to maintain policies related to the development of campus facilities and grounds. All University committees whose primary function relates to the role of this Board shall be formed by and report to this Board. All Proposals generated by individuals, groups, or committees that relate to the role of the Board shall be reviewed by the Board for recommended action to the President.


The following committees are constituted by and report to the board:


The Board is comprised of members appointed by the President from various campus constituencies and a set of ex-officio members. All members of the Board have voting and proxy rights.

Name Entity Represented Affiliation Term Term ends Process

Smith, Royce


Arts & Architecture


--- By position

Blossom, Taylor

Proxy:  Stella Ryan


President, ASMSU


--- By position

Bajwa, Sreekala

Proxy:  Anton Bekkerman

Member VP, Dean & Director, Agriculture Ex-Off --- By position
Clinton, Bill Member Faculty at Large 3 yrs 01/2022 Nominated by UFPB
Brittingham, John Member Faculty, Architecture 3 yrs 06/2022 Nominated by UFPB
Fastnow, Christina Member Director, Planning & Analysis Ex-Off --- By position
Gunnink, Brett Member Academic Council 3 yrs 03/2022 Nominated by UFPB
Hook, EJ Member Director, Facilities Services Ex-Off --- By position
How, John Vice-Chair Director, Campus Planning, Design & Construction Ex-Off --- By position
Johnson, Kris Member Faculty at Large 3 yrs 05/2022 Nominated by UFPB

Kearns, Chris

Proxy:  Joe Schumacher

Member VP, Student Success Ex-Off --- By position

Leist, Terry

Proxy:  Dan Stevenson

Member VP, Administration & Finance Ex-Off --- By position

Long, Shawn

Member All Staff Council     Nomincated by All Staff Council

McNeil, Mike

Member Director, Disabilities Services Ex-Off --- By position

Mokwa, Robert

Proxy:  David Singel

Member Provost and VP, Academic Affairs Ex-Off --- By position

Reijo Pera, Renee

Proxy:  Leslie Schmidt

Member VP, Research & Economic Development Ex-Off --- By position
Rogers, Tom Member Community Representative 3 yrs 03/2021 Nominated by UFPB
Smith, Royce Chair Dean, Arts & Architecture Ex- Off --- By position
Stanley, Mike Member Manager, Parking Services Ex-Off --- By position

Stump, Tom

Proxy:  Duane Morris

Member Director, Auxiliary Services Ex-Off --- By position
Vacant Member Engineering Faculty 3 yrs   Nominated by UFPB
**Buckingham, Jaci Staff Support Campus Planning, Design & Construction N/A N/A N/A

** Non-Voting Member

Membership: Updated May 9, 2019

Membership Responsibilities

Committee members are selected on the basis of one or more of the following:

  • the Specific responsibilities related to their position (ex officio);
  • their particular expertise, knowledge or interest relating to the responsibilities of the committee and/or the campus in general;
  • to represent the interests of a particular constituent group.

In recognition of the importance of MSU's commitment to Shared Governance, MSU's dynamic participative governance processes actively solicit input, advice and perspective from all campus constituencies to inform the institution's administrative leadership regarding campus issues, policies, procedures that impact the direction of the institution. Therefore, in addition to the active participation in committee activities by each member, the responsibilities of committee members who represent a constituent group, and particularly those who represent an MSU governance body (e.g. Faculty Senate, Professional Council, Staff Senate, ASMSU), include regular, timely reports to their governance body and dissemination of appropriate and relevant information to their constituents, as well as reciprocal solicitation of constituent group input regarding issues before the Committee.

Length of Term

Chair, Faculty Representatives, Staff Senate Representative, Academic Council Representative and Professional Council Representatives are appointed to a three-(3) year term.

Appointed By

Faculty Council, Staff Senate, and Professional Council shall nominate candidates for the respective UFPB representatives and forward them to the President for appointment. ASMSU shall appoint an ASMSU representative.