Wednesday, October 7th, 2015

8:30 AM - 10:00 AM

SUB 233

Printable Version (PDF)

Daniel Adams Kari Cargill Maggie Hammett Ilse-Mari Lee Mark Nook Bill Shields
Kenning Arlitsch Dennis Defa Alison Harmon Terry Leist Kellie Peterson Sylvia Sparkman
Randy Babbitt Tracy Ellig Bob Hietala Shelley McKamey Renee Reijo Pera Susan Wolff
Levi Birky Chris Fastnow Abbey Keene Helen Melland Martha Potvin  
Charles Boyer Peter Fields Greg Kegel Chris Murray Nicol Rae  
Matt Caires Brett Gunnink Bob Lashaway Kim Obbink Jerry Sheehan  
  • Call to Order
    Provost Martha Potvin
    • Provost Martha Potvin called the meeting to order at 8:30 AM.
  • Approval of Minutes for September 2nd, 2015
    • Provost Potvin called for a moment of silence in honor of Umpqua Community College, which had a tragic shooting on October 1st, 2015. Christ Fastnow moved to approve the minutes and they were seconded by Terry Leist. The minutes were approved.
  • University Wide Information/ Announcements
    • Provost Potvin welcome the new Interim Dean of the College of Arts & Architecture, Bill Shields. In addition, she welcomed Maureen McCarthy, who is visiting American Council on Education (ACE) fellow at MSU through the 2015-2016 academic year.
  • Old Items
    • Fiscal Misconduct - Affiliated Campuses Policy
      Daniel Adams, Director, Audit Services
      • Based upon comments and questions brought forth in the September meeting, this policy was re-posted for a vote today. Chancellor Mark Nook made a motion to approve the policy; Terry Leist seconded and the policy passed unanimously.
    • Student Bill of Rights
      Levi Birky, ASMSU
      • Levi Birky, ASMSU President, let the Council know that the voting student body passed the new Student Bill of RIghts with 91% of the vote. Matt Caires applauded Leslie Taylor and Michael Reidy for their work on the Code; Randy Babbitt thanked them as well.
    • Sponsored Programs for Children and Youth - Revised MSU Policy
      Kellie Peterson, Legal Counsel
      • Shelley McKamey moved to approve the policy; Jerry Sheehan seconded and the policy passed unanimously.
    • President's Commission on Substance Abuse Prevention (PCOSAP)
      Chris Kearns, Vice President of Student Success
      Matt Caires, Dean of Students
      • Chris Kearns informed the Council that the PCOSAP has had 17 meetings to-date with campus and community stakeholders. He would like to continue these discussions and bring back the plan to the November meeting.
  • Informational Items
    • LRBP Draft List for MSU Bozeman
      Bob Lashaway, Associate Vice President, University Services
      • Bob Lashaway explained the planning process of the Long Range Building Plan for MSU for 2018-2019. Romney Hall is priority number one.
    • Conflict of Interest Policy Annual Reporting
      Kelly Beiswanger, Compliance Manager
      • Kelly Beiswanger explained the Conflict of Interest Policy Annual Reporting process for MSU. If an employee has received an email requiring this information, he/she is encouraged to log into MyInfo and complete the form, as it is required per MUS policy.
    • ASMSU Introductions
      Levi Birky, ASMSU President
      Holly Capp, ASMSU Vice President
      • Levi Birky, ASMSU President, introduced ASMSU's new Vice President, Holly Capp. Holly opened the floor for feedback from the group and informed them of an ASMSU Open House taking place on October 8th from 11:00 AM - 1:00 PM. Tracy Ellig commended Levi Holly for their incredible leadership during ASMSU's leadership transition.
  • Public Comment
    • No public comment was offered.
  • Updates
    • Members of University Council provided brief updates about their departments.