Wednesday, April 6th, 2016

8:30 AM - 10:00 AM

SUB 233

Printable Version (.docx)

Waded Cruzado Daniel Adams Kenning Arlitsch Kregg Aytes Randy Babbitt Jeff Bader
Levi Birky Charles Boyer Matt Caires Kari Cargill Tracy Ellig

Chris Fastnow

Peter Fields Brett Gunnink Maggie Hammett Alison Harmon Cathy Hasenpflug Robert Hawks
Bob Hietala Karlene Hoo Chris Kearns Abbey Keene Greg Kegel Bob Lashaway
Ilse-Mari Lee Terry Leist Shelley McKamey Helen Melland Pam Merrell Chris Murray
Kim Obbink Mark Nook Kellie Peterson Renee Reijo Pera Martha Potvin Nicol Rae
Jerry Sheehan Bill Shields Sylvia Sparkman Susan Wolff    
  • Call to Order
    President Waded Cruzado
    • President Cruzado called the meeting to order at 8:30 AM.
  • Approval of Minutes for March 2nd, 2016
    • There was a motion, by Bob Lashaway, to approve the March 2nd, 2016 minutes; Bill Shields seconded the motion. The minutes were approved unanimously.
  • University Wide Information/ Announcements
    • There were no comments offered.
  • New Items
    • Indigenous Peoples' Day Resolution
      Dr. Walter Fleming, MSU Director of Native American Studies
      Dr. Matt Herman, MSU Associate Professor, Native American Studies
      Ben Pease, MSU Undergraduate Student
      Marsha Small, MSU Adjunct Instructor of Native American Studies
      • After the presentation and discussion by the Council, Tracy Ellig moved that the rule requiring a second reading be suspended. Levi Birky and Charles Boyer seconded the motion and the motion was approved. Tracy Ellig then moved for approval of the resolution; Bill Shields seconded the motion. The motion passed with one opposing vote.
  • Informational Items
    • Results of the City of Bozeman's 2015 National Citizen Survey
      Chris Kukulski, City Manager
      • Additional information was provided to University Council to review all data and benchmark information.
    • Strategic Plan Progress Reports: Engagement
      Chris Fastnow, Director of Planning & Analysis
      • Chris Fastnow presented the most up-to-date data on the progress of the Strategic Plan's Engagement Goals in the Strategic Plan.
    • MSU Great Falls College: 1 + 3 Engineering Transfer Programs
      Susan Wolff, Ed. D., CEO/Dean, MSU Great Falls College
      • Susan Wolff presented information regarding MSU Great Falls College: 1 + 3 Engineering Transfer Programs.
  • Public Comment
    • There was no public comment offered.
  • Updates
    • President Cruzado recognized Levi Birky for receiving the Newman Civic Fellow award and mentioned MSU's selection of three Goldwater Scholars and two Udall Scholars. President Cruzado also acknowledged the upcoming Service Excellence and Faculty Recognition events.
    • Mark Nook announced three upcoming events to include the Annual Powwow, Girls in Science with over 400 participants and the dedication and turning over of the wind generator to City College.
    • Randy Babbitt announced the completion of the Promotion and Tenure sections of the new Faculty Handbook that would be presented at Faculty Senate and Deans' Council.
    • Kregg Aytes announced the unveiling of the Lead Gold Plaque for building sustainability for the new Jake Jabs College of Business and Entrepreneurship.