Wednesday, May 4th, 2016

8:30 AM - 10:00 AM

SUB 233

Printable Version (.docx)

Waded Cruzado Daniel Adams Kenning Arlitsch Kregg Aytes Randy Babbitt Jeff Bader
Levi Birky Charles Boyer Matt Caires Kari Cargill Tracy Ellig Chris Fastnow
Peter Fields Brett Gunnink Maggie Hammett Alison Harmon Cathy Hasenpflug Robert Hawks
Bob Hietala Karlene Hoo Chris Kearns Abbey Keene Greg Kegel Bob Lashaway
Ilse-Mari Lee Terry Leist Shelly McKamey Helen Melland Chris Murray Kim Obbink
Mark Nook Kellie Peterson Renee Reijo Pera Martha Potvin Nicol Rae Jyl Shaffer
Jerry Sheehan Bill Shields Sylvia Sparkman Susan Wolff    
  • Call to Order
    President Waded Cruzado
    • President Cruzado called the meeting to order at 8:30 AM.
  • Approval of Minutes for April 6th, 2016
    • There was a motion, by Terry Leist, to approve the April 6th, 2016 minutes; Susan Wolff seconded the motion. The minutes were approved unanimously.
  • University Wide Information/ Announcements
    • President Cruzado thanked everyone for an incredible academic year. Thank you to Terry Leist for all of his hard work on the new Athletic Director search. Thank you to Peter Fields for his dedicated service to Montana State University. President Cruzado then shared her gratitude to Martha Potvin for her hard work and service as Provost.
  • Informational Items
    • Strategic Plan Progress
      Chris Fastnow, Director of Planning & Analysis
      • President Cruzado thanked Chris Fastnow for being such a great steward of our Strategic Plan. Chris provided updates in the following areas: Learning, Discovery, Engagement, Integration, Access and Stewardship.
    • ASMSU/ Office of Activities and Engagement (OAE) Program Realignment
      Chris Kearns, Vice President for Student Success
      Matt Caires, Dean of Students
      • Marianne Brough from ASMSU presented the "Strategic Program Alignment", which will "create a highly visible unit that fosters a culture of student engagement through co-curricular learning, development, service, and involvement." Ariel Donohue addressed the previous structure, while MAndy St. Aubyn reviewed pervious collaboration by the groups. President Cruzado praised this wonderful presentation. In addition, she thanked Cathy Hasenpflug for her help to the Student Success Divsion.
    • Introduction of New ASMSU Executives
      Levi Birky, 2015-2016 ASMSU President
      Garrett Leach, 2016-2017 ASMSU President
      • Levi Birky, outgoing ASMSU President, introduced Garrett Leach, incoming ASMSU President. Levi then presented a year in review of the successes of ASMSU, which included a newly approved Student Bill of Rights, a new Constitution, and a campus coalition to have a polling location on campus, among many others. Levi then added what an asset President Cruzado was to the polling center process and thanked her for all of her help. Levi then shared personal gratitude to many members of the MSU administration for their support in his success as a student and a leader for ASMSU.
  • Public Comment
    • There was no public comment offered.
  • Updates
    • There were no additional updates shared.