Wednesday, November 2nd, 2016

8:30 AM - 10:00 AM

SUB 233

Printable Version (.docx)

Waded Cruzado Daniel Adams Kenning Arlitsch Kregg Aytes Michael Babcock Jeff Bader
Charles Boyer Matt Caires Kari Cargill Leon Costello Tracy Ellig Chris Fastnow
Brett Gunnink Alison Harmon Cathy Hasenpflug Maggie Hayes Robert Hawks Bob Hietala
Karlene Hoo Chris Kearns Greg Kegel Garrett Leach Ilse-Mari Lee Terry Leist
Shelley McKamey Helen Melland Bob Mokwa Chris Murray Kim Obbink Mark Nook
Kellie Peterson Renee Reijo Pera Nicol Rae Jyl Shaffer Jerry Sheehan Royce Smith
Sylvia Sparkman Dan Stevenson Amy Stix Susan Wolff    
  • Call to Order
    President Waded Cruzado
    • President Cruzado called the meeting to order at 8:30 AM.
  • Approval of Minutes for October 5th, 2016.
    • There was a motion by Michael Babcock to approve the October 5th, 2016, minutes; Royce Smith seconded the motion. The minutes were approved unanimously.
  • University Wide Information/ Announcements
    • President Cruzado thanked everyone who attended the Diversity Summit on November 1st, 2016; every unit on campus was represented and there was very rich conversation.
    • President Cruzado then congratulated Auxiliary Services and Catering for the successful Dining Hall groundbreaking.
    • Lastly, she congratulated Townes Harvest for their wonderful 10th Anniversary celebration as it was a very touching celebration.
  • Old Items
    • Commemorative Tributes Policy
      Kellie Peterson
      • Kellie Peterson explained that the amended policy, including a student member, had been posted for 30 days and recieved no comment. She moved for approval and the Council approved unanimously. Garrett Leach then thanked the Council and Administration for their support of student representation on this policy.
  • Informational Items
    • Diversity Summit Updates
      Rusty Barcelo, Former Vice President and Vice Provost for Equity and Diversity at the University of Minnesota
      Kim Bobby, Inclusive Leadership Consultant and Former Chief Diversity Officer at the University of Puget Sounds
      Eric Lopez, ACE Fellow
      • Eric Lopez provided an update about the Diversity Summit, which took place on November 1st, 2016. Rusty discussed that the format worked well and the opportunity for faculty, students and staff to share their thoughts on diversity was wonderful; students have asked for their own session, which will be planned for the Spring. Rusty is working on a template for a Diversity Plan.
    • Scholarship Process Improvements
      Brandi Payne, Director, Financial Aid Services
      Chris Murray, President & CEO, MSUAF
      • MSUAF and MSU Financial Aid Services have updated the calendar for due dates and submissions in order for more scholarships to be dispersed annually. FAFSA forms are now due from students on December 1st.
    • Staff Senate Scholarship Program Proposal
      Sylvia Sparkman, Chair, Staff Senate
      • Sylvia Sparkman reported on a new scholarship that Staff Senate is putting forward in order to awards MSU Bozeman staff members and their dependent relatives. These funds can be used for fees. Applications accepted April to June 2017.
    • Counseling and Psychological Services (CPS)
      Betsy Asserson, Interim Director, CPS
      • Betsy Asserson shared with the Council the services that CPS offers at MSU and the increase in demand the office has seen in the past few years.
  • Public Comments
    • There was no public comment offered.
  • Updates
    • There were no additional updates shared.

NOTE: The next University Council meeting is scheduled for Wednesday, December 7th, 2016