Wednesday, December 6th, 2017

8:30 AM - 10:00 AM

SUB 233

Printable Version (.docx)

Waded Cruzado Daniel Adams Kenning Arlitsch Kregg Aytes Michael Babcock Charles Boyer
Matt Caires Kylar Clifton Leon Costello Tracy Ellig Chris Fastnow Brett Gunnink
Alison Harmon Cathy Hasenpflug Maggie Hayes Robert Hawks Bob Hietala Karlene Hoo
James Joyce Chris Kearns Greg Kegel Ron Larsen Ilse-Mari Lee Terry Leist
Shelley McKamey Bob Mokwa Chris Murray Kim Obbink Ramie Pederson Kellie Peterson
Renee Reijo Pera Nicol Rae Jyl Shaffer Sarah Shannon Jerry Sheehan Royce Smith
Dan Stevenson Cody Stone James Tobin Susan Wolff    
  • Call to Order
    President Waded Cruzado
    • President Cruzado called the meeting to order at 8:32 AM.
  • Approval of Minutes for November 1st, 2017
    • Royce made a motion to approve the minutes; Terry seconded the minutes were approved unanimously.
  • University Wide Information/ Announcements
    • President Cruzado shared that Provost Bob Mokwa will be out for a few weeks due to an injury. The Associate Provosts are available for anything that might be needed. President Cruzado congratulated Bob Hietala for winning the Prospera Leadership award. She presented him with a gift.
  • New Items
    • New Space Managment Policy
      John How, Space Planning Manager
      • John How shared the updates that have been made to the Space Managment policy. Space Planning Management (SPM) will meet with affected units regarding space allocations; there will be a recommendation to SMC; the requester accepts or appeals recommendation to SMC; the SMC approves, modifies or rejects recommendation or appeal; last, the President makes the final decision. The comments related to the policy are ranked in terms of frequency recieved.
        1. Conference room use
        2. Appeals process for losing space
        3. Vacant space pool notifications
        4. Office space standards
        5. Auxiliary spaces subject to policy
        6. Research space metrics
        7. Moves and how they relate to space
      • Matt Caires thanked John for taking on such a difficult task and how much we appreciate the great job he has been doing for MSU. President Cruzado seconded Matt's comments and thanked John for building a great foundation for managing our growth and space. Ultimately, the space belongs to the tax payers of Montana.
    • Sports Facilities Policy Manual
      Kellie Peterson, Legal Counsel
      • This is an existing policy used by Sports Facilities; one substantive change is that it allows sports clubs one free use per year for fundraising use. Melanie Stocks offered the opportunity to ask questions. This policy will come back for a vote in January.
  • Informational Items
    • Mountains & Minds: Learners and Leaders Strategic Plan Update: Learning Goal
      Chris Fastnow, Director, Office of Planning & Analysis
      • Ian Godwin presented on the Learning Goal of the Strategic Plan
    • Knowing Your MSU: Community Design Center
      Tom McNab, Associate Professor, Director of Community Design Center
      • Tom McNab shared that the Community Design Center (CDC) was founded in 1976 - 41 years ago. Tom is the sixth director of this program. CDC was awarded the National AIA (American Institute of Architects) Award in 2006. CDC recieved the opportunity to work on $18,300,000 project for the Billings Public Library.
  • Public Comments
    • There were no public comments
  • Updates
    • There were no updates

Note: The next University Council meeting is scheduled for Wednesday, January 10th, 2017.