Wednesday, December 5th, 2018

8:30 AM - 10:00 AM

SUB 233

Printable Version (.docx)

Waded Cruzado Daniel Adams Kenning Arlitsch Michael Babcock Taylor Blossom Charles Boyer
Matt Caires Leon Costello Chris Dobbs Dan Edelman Tracy Ellig Chris Fastnow
Miley Gonzalez Brett Gunnink Alison Harmon Maggie Hayes Robert Hawks Bob Hietala
Karlene Hoo James Joyce Chris Kearns Greg Kegel Ilse-Mari Lee Terry Leist
Erika Matsuda Bob Mokwa Chris Murray Kim Obbink Ramie Pederson Kellie Peterson
Mark Ranalli Renee Reijo Pera Stephanie Pressly Nicol Rae Abbie Richards Sarah Shannon
Jerry Sheehan Royce Smith Emily Stark Dan Stevenson Cody Stone Susan Wolff
  • Call to Order
    President Waded Cruzado
    • President Cruzado called the meeting to order at 8:30 AM.
  • Approval of Minutes for November 7th, 2018
    • Michael Babcock moved to approve the minutes; Chris Kearns seconded. The minutes were approved unanimously.
  • University Wide Information/ Announcements
    • President Cruzado thanked Dean Charles Boyer for his service to the College of Agriculture, as he is set to retire on December 31, 2018. Next, President Cruzado shared a Year-in-Review slideshow, highlighting the year-long celebrations of the 125th. Each month was assigned to a College, including Extension, to celebrate their accomplishments for the last 125 years. Events and special recognitions from January - December were acknowledged.
  • New Items
    • Compensatory Time for Exempt Classified Employees
      Kellie Peterson, Legal Counsel
      • Kellie Peterson reminded the Council that it adopted a new policy manual at the beginning of this academic year, which go in affect in January. This policy was not adopted at the time, as additional feedback and input was needed. This draft policy will be posted for comments for the month of December. Kellie encouraged comments and feedback.
  • Informational Items
    • Know Your MSU: LEAP/MEPI/TEA Programs
      Janelle Rasmussen, Director, International Training & Professional Development
      • Janelle introduced her staff, Makiko Diehl, to kick off her presentation. She shared a map illustrating where the LEAP/MEPI/TEA international training participants come from across the globe.
      • TEA fellows are secondary educators and we have had 402 participants go through the program.
      • She also shared the many partnerships that we have across the Bozeman community.
    • Fall Institutional Report
      Chris Fastnow, Director, Office of Planning & Analysis
      • President Cruzado introduced Chris Fastnow. Chris shared the Fall Institutional Report, which was introduced 3-4 years ago to provide a high-level look at the numbers of the University. The Report is posted on the website.
      • It answers how many people work here, how many people study here, how successful are our students and how we spend our money.
      • 593 tenurable faculty work at MSU; 1046 includes all faculty FTE (16% increase in five years). Non-tenurable faculty (all source funding) is at 454. All staff FTE is at 1953 (all source funding).
      • Four-year degree seekers are at 14,203. The graduate enrollment is at 1983. Gallatin College is at a headcount of 692 students (the highest percentage of the increase).
      • Addressing how successful our students are, Chris shared data bout retention and graduation rates. We are at 77.2% for first time full time retention and 73.6% total new student retention. MSU's 6-year graduation rate is at 54.7% and the 4-year graduation rate is at 29.3%.
      • This year we awarded 2396 BA/BS Degrees, 562 Masters Degrees, 183 AA/AS/Certificate Degrees and 91 Doctoral Degrees
      • In regard to spending, the General Fund Expenditures were shared.
  • Public Comment
    • There was no public comment shared.
  • Updates
    • Around the table updates were shared by the members regarding events in December.

NOTE: The next University Council meeting is scheduled for Wednesday, January 9th, 2019 from 8:30 AM - 10:00 AM.