Wednesday, September 6, 2023

8:30 AM – 10:00 AM
SUB Room 235
Printable Minutes


Waded Cruzado, Dean Adams,  Justin Arndt, Sreekala Bajwa, Matt Caires, Leon Costello, Chris Dobbs, Ariel Donohue, Jonathan Dove, Tracy Ellig, Colter Ellis, Stephanie Erdmann, Chris Fastnow, Beverly Garrison, Stephanie Gray, Jeannette Grey Gilbert, Brett Gunnink, Alison Harmon, Stefani Hicswa, John How, Yves Idzerda, Greg Kegel, Ryan Knutson, Chere LeClair, Ilse-Mari Lee, Terry Leist, Mary Jane McGarity, Dan Miller, Bob Mokwa, Doralyn Rossmann, Tricia Seifert, Steve Swinford, Kim Obbink, Craig Ogilvie, Kellie Peterson, Sarah Shannon, Cody Stone, Amber Vestal, Kristof Zaba, Jacob Zink


  1. Call to Order
    Provost Mokwa called meeting to order at 8:30am.

  2. Approval of Minutes for August 9, 2023

    Sreekala Bajwa moved to approve minutes; John How seconded and the minutes were approved unanimously.

  3. University Wide Information/Annoucements

    Provost Mokwa shared the first Provost’s Lecture Series features Dr. Clem Izurieta.

  4. Public Comment

    Paul LaChapelle provided comments about a climate solutions group.

  5. Old Items
    1. Sports Facilities policy revision
      Chris Hayden, Director, Sports Facilities

      Justin Arndt shared there were no further comments for requests or changes. The policy was approved unanimously.

    2. Lost and Found policy
      Camie Bechtold, Advisor to Office of Compliance

      Minor updates were offered to enhance clarity.  The policy was approved unanimously. 


  6. New Items
    1. Social Media policy
      Tracy Ellig, Vice President for University Communications

      The policy is for university business and employees who conduct university business on a social media site.

    2. Classification and Acceptance of External Funding policy revision
      Camie Bechtold, Advisor to Office of Compliance

      Camie shared updates include the title; expanded to include all external funding; added VP Research and Economic Development as responsible party.

  7. Informational Items
    1. Division of Student Success name change
      Steve Swinford, Vice President for Student Success

      Vice President Swinford shared the name is now “Student Success.”

    2. Web Accessibility policy update
      Justin Arndt, Chief Compliance Officer

      Todd discussed overview of team and updates to Veteran Services 

    3. Choosing Promise: Priority Goals for Academic Year 2025
      Chris Fastnow, Director, Office of Planning & Analysis

      Chris spoke about goals, including educational outcomes for all students and student success across their academic lifetime; foster culture of collaboration, continuous improvement and individual growth; and values of MSU include excellence, integrity, inclusion, collaboration, curiosity, and stewardship.

  8. Updates

    Campus executives provided around-the-table updates.

NOTE:  The next University Council meeting is scheduled for Wednesday, October 4, 2023, from 8:30 AM – 10:00 AM in SUB, Room 235.