Mechanical Engineering Faculty

Roberta Amendola

Assistant Professor - Mechanical Engineering

Oxidation and corrosion of metallic alloys, high temperature protective coating development and high temperature corrosive gases and water vapor interactions with metals and ceramics.

email: roberta.amendola@me.montana.edu

Ruhul Amin

Professor - Mechanical Engineering

Heat Transfer, Fluid Mechanics, Energy Systems

email: ramin@me.montana.edu

Doug Cairns

Professor - Mechanical Engineering

Materials, Composites, Modeling, Solid Mechanics, Mechanics of materials

email: dcairns@me.montana.edu

Sarah Codd

Professor - Mechanical Engineering

Magnetic Resonance Microscopy studies of ceramics, and
 fluid dynamics in hydrogels, biofilms, and polymer electrolyte membranes.

email: scodd@me.montana.edu

Vic A. Cundy

Professor - Mechanical Engineering

Combustion, Heat Transfer, Incineration of Waste, Fluid Mechanics

email: vcundy@me.montana.edu

John Davis

Adjunct Associate Professor - Mechanical Engineering Technology

Manufacturing Processes, Machining Technology

johnd@me.montana.edu

Mike Edens

Adjunct Associate Professor - Mechanical Engineering Technology 

Paul Gentile

Adjunct Instructor - High Resolution Imaging & Spectroscopy, Solid Oxide Fuel Cells, Thermo-chemical Modeling

placeholder image

Associate Professor - Mechanical Engineering

Heat transfer, Measurements and Instrumentation

email: ageorge@me.montana.edu

Chris Jenkins

Professor - Mechanical Engineering

Computational and Experimental Mechanics, Analysis and Design of Compliant Structures, Continuum and Solid Mechanics, Theoretical and Experimental Structural Dynamics, Mechanical Design

email: cjenkins@me.montana.edu

Ron June

Assistant Professor - Mechanical Engineering

Mechanobiology, Mechanotransduction, Biomechanics, Arthritis, Biomaterials, Viscoelasticity and Materials Science

email: rjune@me.montana.edu

Robb Larson

Associate Professor - Mechanical Engineering Technology
Affiliated Professor - Mechanical Engineering

Mechanical Design, Measurement & Instrumentation, Wind/Alternative Energy Applications, Avalanche & Cold Regions Studies, Automotive & Transportation systems.

email: rlarson@me.montana.edu

Daniel A. Miller, Ph.D.

Department Head and Associate Professor - Mechanical Engineering

David Miller

Associate Professor - Mechanical Engineering

Experimental mechanics of materials; structure/property relationships to strength and damage; shape memory alloys; dynamic testing and properties of materials.

email: dmiller@me.montana.edu

Mark Owkes, Ph.D.

Assistant Professor - Mechanical Engineering

Computational Fluid Dynamics, Numerical Methods, Energy Systems, Multiphase (gas-liquid) Flows, Electrohydrodynamics

email: mark.owkes@me.montana.edu

Mandy Rutherford

Adjunct Instructor

Uncertainty Quantification, Structural Dynamics

email: mandy.rutherford@coe.montana.edu

Stephen Sofie

Associate Professor - Mechanical Engineering

Innovative Ceramic Processing, Microstructure/Nano Structure Engineering, Solid Oxide Fuel
Cells, High Temp. Piezoelectrics, High Temp. Superconductors, Thermoelectrics, and Photoluminescent Ceramics.

email: ssofie@me.montana.edu.