Montana State University

Department of Earth Sciences

Montana State University
P.O. Box 173480
Bozeman, MT 59717-3480

Tel: (406) 994-3331
Fax: (406) 994-6923
Location: 226 Traphagen Hall

Department Chair

Dr. David Mogk

Cathy L. Whitlock

Professor of Earth Sciences

MSU Director of the Institute on Ecosystems (IOE)

Lead Investigator on NSF WildFIRE Partnership in Research and Education (Wildfire pire)

Contact Information

Office:  AJM 106
Phone:   (406) 994-6910
Lab: Leon Johnson 710
Lab Phone: (406) 994-6856


B.A. Colorado College, Geology, magna cum laude, 1975
M.S. University of Washington, Geological Sciences , 1979
Ph.D. University of Washington, Geological Sciences, 1983

MSU Paleoecology Lab

Dr. Whitlocks's CV (PDF)

Research Interests

  • Quaternary climate change
  • Environmental history of the Northern Rockies and Yellowstone
  • Role of people and climate change in shaping fire regimes in the western US, Patagonia, Tasmania, and New Zealand
  • Using science to inform management and decision making

Current Graduate Students

Mio Alt
James Benes
Dave Firmage
Teresa Krause
Laura Stahle

Current Publications