I am not taking new students.

Professor Nehrir


Dr. Nehrir received his BS, MS, and Ph.D. degrees all in electrical engineering from Oregon State University in 1969, 1971, and 1978, respectively. He started his educational career at then Pahlavi University (now Shiraz University) in 1971 and joined The Montana State University (MSU) Electrical Engineering faculty in 1987. He has taught a variety of courses on electric power systems, alternative energy power generation, energy conversion devices, electric circuits, and control. Dr. Nehrir's active research include modeling, control, and energy management of alternative energy distributed generation (DG) sources and microgrids with multiple alternative energy and conventional DG sources, and smart grid functions including demand response and application of intelligent control and multiagent systems to power systems. His research was supported by a variety of sources, including: The US National Science Foundation, NSF-EPSCoR, USDOE, DOE-EPSCoR, Pacific Northwest National Laboratory, Electric Power Research Institute, The Montana Power Company (now NorthWestern Energy), Montana Electric Power Cooperatives, and Montana Electric Power Affiliates Program (MEPRA).

Dr. Nehrir is the author of four books and numerous journal and conference publications, all listed in his vitae. His research on fuel cell modeling and control, during 1999-2009, resulted in dynamic models for polymer electrolyte membrane fuel cells (PEMFC) and solid-oxide fuel cells (SOFC), suitable for distributed generation application studies. His 2009 book in this area (co-authored by his former graduate student, Dr, Caisheng Wang) and the fuel cell models developed by his research team are being used around the world. For more information about the models and download for research and/or educational purposes, go to Fuel Cell Models.  

He has lectured on his research and educational activities around the globe, including Australia, Canada, China, Germany, India, Iran, Japan, Poland, and USA. Dr. Nehrir is an IEEE Life Fellow for contribution to alternative energy power generation systems modeling an control. He  was an editor of IEEE Transactions on Sustainable Energy (2009-2015), consulting editor of the same Transactions (2016-2021), and Chair of the IEEE Power & Energy Society (PES) Renewable Technologies Subcommittee (2019-2021). He received MSU's highest research Award, Charles & Nora Wiley Faculty Award for Meritorious Research in 2010, the  IEEE PES Ramakumar Family Renewable Energy Excellence Award in 2016, and the Albert Nelson Marquis Lifetime Achievement Award, bestowed by Marquis Who’s Who Publications Board, in 2017.