UTEC Members Representing Teaching Majors or Minors for 2017-18

Name Position Represents
Anton Bekkerman
Bekkerman, Anton

Member Agricultural Economics & Economics
Galen Brokaw
Brokaw, Galen
Member Head, Department of Modern Languages & Literatures
Jioanna Carjuzaa
Carjuzaa, Jioanna
Member Multicultural Education
Robert Carson
Carson, Robert
Member Northern Plains Transition to Teaching
Nancy Colton
Colton, Nancy
Member Health Enhancement K-12
Ann Ewbank
Ewbank, Ann
Member Education, Director of Accreditation and Operations
Walter Fleming
Fleming, Walter
Member Head, Department of Native American Studies
Greg Francis
Francis, Greg
Member Physics
Bill Freese
Freese, Bill
Member Education Assessment
Gregory Gilpin
Gilpin, Gregory
Member Interim Department Head, Department of Agricultural Economics & Economics
Maggie Greene
Greene, Maggie
Member History
Alison Harmon
Harmon, Alison
Chair Dean, College of EHHD
Sara Heller
Heller, Sara
Member Health & Human Development Advising
Joe Hicks
Hicks, Joe
Member Education & After School Partnership
Steve Holmgren
Holmgren, Steve
Member Chemistry
Mary Hubbard
Hubbard, Mary
Member  Earth Sciences
Carl Igo
Igo, Carl
Member Agricultural Education
Vaughan Judge
Judge, Vaughan
Member Director, School of Art
Gilbert Kalonde
Kalonde, Gilbert
Member Technology Education
Jennifer Luebeck
Luebeck, Jennifer
Member Mathematics
Christine Lux
Lux, Christine
Member Early Childhood Education
Mandi McCarthy Rogers
McCarthy Rogers, Mandi
Member Art Advising
Cyndi Meldahl
Meldahl, Cyndi
Member Education Advising
John Melick
Melick, John
Member Field Placement & Licensure
Gini Mohr
Mohr, Gini
Member Field Placement & Licensure
Jamie O'Callaghan
O'Callaghan, Jamie
Member Post-Baccalaureate Specialist, Field Placement & Licensure
David Reese
Reese, David
Member Education Advising Center
David Roberts
Roberts, David
Member Department of Ecology
Christine Rogers-Stanton
Rogers Stanton, Christine
Member Social Studies Broadfield Education
Sarah Schmitt-Wilson
Schmitt-Wilson, Sarah
Member Education
Tricia Seifert
Seifert, Tricia
Member Head, Department of Education
Liz Shanahan
Shanahan, Liz
Member Political Science
Tobin Stewart
Stewart, Tobin
Member Music
Nicole Wanago
Wanago, Nicole
Member Family & Consumer Sciences
Nigel Waterton
Waterton, Nigel
Member Education
To Be Determined Member English


Review existing and proposed operational policy and practice, and recommend needed changes to appropriate University groups; establish guidelines for the development of teaching options, majors, and minors; review and approve the requirements for general education, broad fields, teaching options, majors, and minors; act as a channel of communication between the total education faculty, the administrative committee of the College of Education, Health and Human Development, the various college that assist in teacher preparation, and other interested persons; and review curriculum descriptions in University publications.


Once per semester and as required


Voting Members: One representative from each academic department offering teaching options, majors, or minors.

Voting Ex Officio Members: Dean and Assistant Dean of Education, Health and Human Development; Director, Field Placement and Licensure; Vice President for Academic Affairs; Assistant Deans of the Colleges of Arts and Architecture, Letters and Science; Dean of Graduate Studies; Director, Native American Studies; and Director, University Studies; Unit Coordinator for Elementary Education.

Length of Term

One year, renewable

Appointed By

Heads of academic departments offering teaching options, majors, or minors.

Advisory To

Dean, College of Education, Health and Human Development

Reports Due

As requested