Modern Languages & Literatures Faculty

Gaines Hall

Current faculty:

Click on any name below to see their individual page


Anas Alsayed Suliman

Anas Alsayed Suliman, Arabic Instructor, Director of the U.S. Arabic Distance Learning Network
Office: Gaines 118B;  Phone: 406-994-6459;  Email: anas.alsayedsuliman@montana.edu

 


Galen
Galen Brokaw
, Department Head, Coordinator of Spanish Section
Office: Gaines 117A;  Phone: 406-994-6448;  Email: brokaw@montana.edu
Research Interests: Colonial Latin America and Early Modern Spain, Indigenous Latin American cultures, the Andean khipu, Mesoamerican iconography, indigenismo, critical theory, translation

 


Patricia
Patricia Catoira
, Associate Professor of Spanish, Coordinator of Latin American & Latino Studies Program
Office: Gaines 118C;  Phone: 406-994-4447;  Email: pcatoira@montana.edu
Research Interests: Latin American literature and culture; Cuba (antislavery narratives, exile, Special Period); National identity; Women's and gender studies; Print culture; Latin American migration to and cultural production in Spain since the 1990s



Gillian
Gillian Cleary
, Instructor of Spanish
Office: Gaines 118;  Phone: 406-994-5136;  Email:  gillian.cleary@montana.edu

 


Heidi 
Heidi Dayhuff
, Instructor of Spanish
Office: Gaines 118;  Phone: 406-994-5136;  Email: heidi.dayhuff@montana.edu

 


Yalin
Yalin Du
, Visiting Assistant Professor of Chinese
Office: Gaines 118;  Phone: 406-994-5136;  Email: yalin.du@montana.edu



Veronica
Veronica Garcia Moreno
, Assistant Teaching Professor of Spanish
Office: Gaines 118;  Phone: 406-994-6445;  Email: verikalobas@hotmail.com



Ada
Ada Giusti
, Professor of French, Coordinator of French Section
Office: Gaines 117B;  Phone: 406-994-6442;  Email: agiusti@montana.edu
Research Interests: International service learning; Contemporary French Civilization (immigration, poverty, French NGOs).

 


Yuka
Yuka Hara
, Assistant Teaching Professor of Japanese, Curriculum Coordinator of Japanese Language Instruction
Office: Gaines 118;  Phone: 406-994-5136;  Email: yhara@montana.edu

 


Pascale
Pascale Hickman
, Associate Teaching Professor of French
Office: Gaines 117C;  Phone: 406-994-6444;  Email: pascale.hickman@montana.edu 

 


Bridget
Bridget Kevane
, Professor of Spanish, Associate Dean for Faculty Affairs in the College of Letters and Science
Office: Wilson 2-265;  Phone: 406-994-6446;  Email: bkevane@montana.edu
Research Interests: Latino/a Studies, especially literature, and cultural expressions of faith and spirituality in this literature

 


Karoline
Karoline Krauss
, Teaching Professor of German, Coordinator of German Studies
Office: Gaines 118;  Phone: 406-994-5136;  Email: kakrauss@gmail.com



Mark
Mark Lehman
, Instructor of Spanish
Office: Gaines 118;  Phone: 406-994-5136;  Email: lehmanmark@hotmail.com



Hua
Hua Li
, Associate Professor of Chinese, Coordinator of Chinese Section
Office: Gaines 118A;  Phone: 406-994-6449;  Email: huali@montana.edu
Research Interests:  Contemporary Chinese Literature; Su Tong and Yu Hua's coming-of-age stories; contemporary Chinese army-writer fictions



James
James Martin
, Associate Professor of Spanish
Office: Gaines 115B;  Phone: 406-994-6447;  Email: jameswmmsu@gmail.com
Research Interests: Travel and tourism; U.S.-Latin American relations; modern Latin American history; Latin American literature

 


Liana 
Liana McKelvy
, Instructor of German
Office: Gaines 118;  Phone: 406-994-5136;  Email: liana.mckelvy@montana.edu

 


Brigitte
Brigitte Morris
, Instructor of French
Office: Gaines 118;  Phone: 406-994-5136;  Email: brigitte@montana.edu

 


Sally
Sally Sanchez
, Assistant Teaching Professor of Spanish
Office: Gaines 118;  Phone: 406-994-5136;  Email: ssanchez@montana.edu

 


John
John Thompson
, Associate Professor of Spanish
Office: Gaines 118E;  Phone: 406-994-6445;  Email: john.thompson166@gmail.com

 


Pete
Peter Tillack
, Associate Professor of Japanese, Coordinator of Asian Studies
Office: Gaines 118D;  Phone: 406-994-6441;  Email: tillack@montana.edu
Research Interests: Modern & contemporary Japanese literature; literary/filmic representations of social space during Japan's "economic miracle"

 


Yvonne 
Yvonne Toepfer
, Visiting Assistant Professor of German
Office: Gaines 118F;  Phone: 406-994-5502;  Email: yvonne.toepfer@montana.edu

 


Tom 
Thomas Walsh
, Associate Teaching Professor of Spanish
Office: Gaines 118;  Phone: 406-994-5502;  Email: tomw@cultural.org

 


Phil
Philip Williams
, Teaching Professor of Chinese and Japan Studies
Office: Gaines 118;  Phone: 406-994-5136;  Email: philip.williams@montana.edu
Research Interests: Chinese and Japanese literature and culture; Monsoon Asian civilization; Chinese language and migration studies

 

 divider

Click here to see Emeritus / Previous Faculty