Modern Languages & Literatures Faculty

Gaines Hall

Click on any name below to see their individual page!

 

Nabil
Nabil Abdelfattah
, Associate Teaching Professor of Arabic
Office: None, teaches via video-conference;  Email: nabil.abdelfattah@sbcglobal.net

 


Galen
Galen Brokaw
, Department Head, Coordinator of Spanish Section
Office: Gaines 117A;  Phone: 406-994-6448;  Email: brokaw@montana.edu
Research Interests: Colonial Latin America and Early Modern Spain, Indigenous Latin American cultures, the Andean khipu, Mesoamerican iconography, indigenismo, critical theory, translation

 


Catoira
Patricia Catoira
, Associate Professor of Spanish, Coordinator of Latin American & Latino Studies Program
Office: Gaines 118C;  Phone: 406-994-4447;  Email: pcatoira@montana.edu
Research Interests: Latin American literature and culture; Cuba (antislavery narratives, exile, Special Period); National identity; Women's and gender studies; Print culture; Latin American migration to and cultural production in Spain since the 1990s



Rex
Rex C. Dahl
, Professor Emeritus of German
Email: rdahl2@gmail.com

 


Daniels
Doug Daniels
, Professor Emeritus of French, MLRC Coordinator
Office: Gaines 110;  Phone: 406-994-6450;  Email: ddaniels@montana.edu

 


Heidi 
Heidi Dayhuff
, Instructor of Spanish
Office: Gaines 118;  Phone: 406-994-5136;  Email:  heidi.dayhuff@montana.edu

 


Katharina
Katharina Frank Bernstein
, previous Instructor of Spanish
Email: k.frankbernstein@hotmail.com



Veronica
Veronica Garcia Moreno
, Assistant Teaching Professor of Spanish
Office: Gaines 118;  Phone: 406-994-6445;  Email: verikalobas@hotmail.com



Ada
Ada Giusti
, Professor of French, Coordinator of French Section
Office: Gaines 117B;  Phone: 406-994-6442;  Email: agiusti@montana.edu
Research Interests: International service learning; Contemporary French Civilization (immigration, poverty, French NGOs).

 


Yuka
Yuka Hara
, Assistant Teaching Professor of Japanese, Curriculum Coordinator of Japanese Language Instruction
Office: Gaines 118;  Phone: 406-994-5136;  Email: yhara@montana.edu



Hickman
Pascale Hickman
, Associate Teaching Professor of French
Office: Gaines 117C;  Phone: 406-994-6444;  Email: pascale.hickman@montana.edu

 


Jack
Jack B. Jelinski
, Professor Emeritus of Spanish
Phone: 406-994-6448;  Email: umljj@montana.edu
Research Interests: Cervantine studies, linguistics, socio-biology, origins of aesthetic pleasure, poetry



Kevane
Bridget Kevane
, Professor of Spanish
Office: Gaines 118B;  Phone: 406-994-6446;  Email: umlbk@montana.edu
Research Interests: Latino/a Studies, especially literature, and cultural expressions of faith and spirituality in this literature

 


Krauss
Karoline Krauss
, Associate Teaching Professor of German
Office: Gaines 118;  Phone: 406-994-5136;  Email: kakrauss@gmail.com



Mark
Mark Lehman
, Instructor of Spanish
Office: Gaines 118;  Phone: 406-994-5136;  Email: lehmanmark@hotmail.com



Hua
Hua Li
, Assistant Professor of Chinese, Coordinator of Chinese Section
Office: Gaines 118A;  Phone: 406-994-6449;  Email: huali@montana.edu
Research Interests:  Contemporary Chinese Literature; Su Tong and Yu Hua's coming-of-age stories; contemporary Chinese army-writer fictions



James
James Martin
, Assistant Professor of Spanish
Office: Gaines 115B;  Phone: 406-994-6447;  Email: jameswmmsu@gmail.com
Research Interests: Travel and tourism; U.S.-Latin American relations; modern Latin American history; Latin American literature

 


Brigitte
Brigitte Morris
, Instructor of French
Office: Gaines 118;  Phone: 406-994-5136;  Email: brigitte@montana.edu

 


Marc
Marc James Mueller
, Assistant Professor of German
Office: Gaines 118F;  Phone: 406-994-5502;  Email: mueller@montana.edu
Research Interests: Intercultural Literatures & Identity Policies, Translation Studies



Mike
Michael Myers
, Professor Emeritus of German
Email: in care of tracy@montana.edu



Susanne
Susanne Pannwitz
, Instructor of German
Office: Gaines 118;  Phone: 406-994-5136;  Email: pannwitz@montana.edu

 


Carolyn
Carolyn Pinet
, Retired Instructor of Spanish
Office: Gaines 118;  Phone: 406-994-5136;  Email: umlcp@montana.edu



Chris
The late Christopher Pinet, Professor Emeritus of French

 


Sally
Sally Sanchez
, Assistant Teaching Professor of Spanish
Office: Gaines 118;  Phone: 406-994-5136;  Email: ssanchez@montana.edu

 


LaTrelle
LaTrelle Scherffius
, Instructor of Spanish
Office: Wilson 2-160
Email: 
latrelleinmt@gmail.com

 


Patty
Patricia Simpson
, Professor of German
Office: Gaines 115A;  Phone: 406-994-6443;  Email: psimpson.msu@gmail.com

 


John
John Thompson
, Associate Professor of Spanish
Office: Gaines 118E;  Phone: 406-994-6445;  Email: john.thompson166@gmail.com

 


Pete
Peter Tillack
, Assistant Professor of Japanese, Coordinator of Japanese Section
Office: Gaines 118D;  Phone: 406-994-6441;  Email: tillack@montana.edu
Research Interests: Modern & contemporary Japanese literature; literary/filmic representations of social space during Japan's "economic miracle"



Phil
Philip Williams
, Associate Teaching Professor of Chinese and Japan Studies
Office: Gaines 118;  Phone: 406-994-5136;  Email:  philip.williams@montana.edu
Research Interests: Monsoon Asia, especially East Asia; cultural history; human rights and prisoners of conscience



Houda
Houda Zaazaa
, Arabic Teaching Assistant
Office: Gaines 118;  Phone: 406-994-5136;  Email:  houda.zaazaa@msu.montana.edu