Faculty

Hutchison, Keith A. (Ph.D. 2001, University at Albany-SUNY). Professor and Department Chair. Cognitive psychology: attention, implicit and explicit memory, language, cognitive effects of aging and Alzheimer's Disease. 

Email: khutch@montana.edu Office: Trap 319B Phone: 994-5528 Chair Phone: 994-5174
Spring 2017 Office Hours: Wednesdays 12:00 - 2:00 and by appointment

 

Babcock, Michael A. (Ph.D. 1985, Colorado State University). Professor. Cerebral ischemia, neurobiology of learning & memory, sensation and perception. 

Email: mbabcock@montana.edu Office: Trap 428C Phone: 994-5175
Spring 2017 Office Hours: Monday, Wednesday, Friday 8:00 - 9:00 and by appointment

 

Handley, Ian M. (Ph.D. 2003, Ohio University). Associate Professor. Social psychology: social cognition, attitudes and persuasion, affect and decision-making.

Email: ihandley@montana.edu Office: Trap 322 Phone: 994-6508
Spring 2017 Office Hours: 

 

John-Henderson, Neha A. (Ph.D. 2014, University of California, Berkeley). Assistant Professor. Health Psychology and Psychoneuroimmunology. Socioeconomic disparities in health, impact of early life experiences on health, influence of social experience on disease risk. 

Email: neha.johnhenderson@montana.edu Office: Trap 305 Phone: 994-7976
Spring 2017 Office Hours: 

 

Meade, Michelle L. (Ph.D. 2003, Washington University in St. Louis). Associate Professor. Cognitive psychology: memory, cognitive aging, collaborative memory, individual difference in performance. 

Email: mlmeade@montana.edu Office: AJMJ 207 Phone: 994-5946
Spring 2017 Office Hours: 

 

Scott, Brandon (Ph.D. 2013, University of New Orleans). Assistant Professor. Developmental Psychology: anxiety and emotion-regulation in children, individual and contextual factors, and socio-cognitive and health outcomes. 

Email: brandon.scott2@montana.edu Office: Trap 303 Phone: 994-5218
Spring 2017 Office Hours: Mondays 1:30 - 3:00, Thursdays 9:30 - 11:00, and by appointment

 

Skewes, Monica (Ph.D. 2006, University of Texas at El Paso). Assistant Professor. Health psychology: addictive behaviors, minority health disparities, substance abuse treatment, harm reduction. 

Email: monica.skewes@montana.edu Office: Trap 320 Phone: 994-3814
Spring 2017 Office Hours: Tuesdays 3:00 - 5:00 and by appointment

 

Smith, Jessi L. (Ph.D. 2002, University of Utah). Professor. Social psychology: self-regulation of motivation, gender studies, interpersonal and achievement goals, stereotype threat. 

Email: jsismith@montana.edu Office: Trap 428D Phone: 994-5228
Spring 2017 Office Hours: Wednesdays 12:30 - 2:00 and by appointment

 

Associate Teaching Professor

Barnes, Ralph (Ph.D. 2002, The Ohio State University). Courses Taught: Introduction to Psychology, Senior Thesis, History and Systems in Psychology, Research Design & Analysis I. Research Interests: Reasoning, decision making, dynamic social influence. 

Email: ralph.barnes@montana.edu Office: Trap 311 Phone: 994-5172
Spring 2017 Office Hours: Tuesdays 1:00-2:00, Thursdays 11:00-12:00, Fridays 3:10-4:10, and by appointment

 

Marchak, Frank M. (Ph.D. 1988, Dartmouth College). Courses Taught: Research Design and Analysis I, Research Design and Analysis II, Sensation & Perception, Psychology of Consciousness, Judgment & Decision Making, Senior Thesis. Research Interests: Cognitive psychophysiology, memory, vision, credibility assessment. 

Email: frank.marchak@montana.edu Office: Trap 309 Phone: 994-6921
Spring 2017 Office Hours: Tuesdays 3:00-4:00, Wednesdays 9:00-10:00, and by appointment 

 

Senior Lecturer

Heiser, Shawna (M.S. 1997, Montana State University). Board Certified Behavior Analyst, BCBA 2009). Behavior Modification, Psychology of Learning, Field Practicum, Advanced Behavior Analysis. External Web site: www.speciallearning1on1.com

Email: sheiser@montana.edu Office: Trap 307 Phone: 994-4931
Spring 2017 Office Hours: Tuesdays 10:00 - 10:50 & 1:30 - 2:00, Thursdays 10:30 - 10:50 & 1:30 - 1:45

 

Instructor

Burns, Max (M.S. 2015, Montana State University). Masculinity, gender, stereotypes, and sexuality. 

Email: maxwell.burns@montana.edu Office: Trap 312 Phone: 994-3819
Spring 2017 Office Hours: Tuesday and Thursday 9:15 - 10:15

 

Kujawa, Katharine (M.S. 2014, Montana State University). Behavioral neuroscience: anxiety and fear, underlying neurophysiology, production and validation of behavioral paradigms. 

Email: katharine.kujawa@montana.edu Office: Trap 312 Phone: 994-3819
Spring 2017 Office Hours: Tuesdays 7:45 - 8:30 pm.  In person and electronic meetings available by appointment.

 

Powell, Suzanna (M.S. 2014, Montana State University). Cognition, memory, animal behavior, and sleep.  

Email: suzanna.powell@montana.edu  Office: Trap 310 Phone: 994-3803
Spring 2017 Office Hours: Monday and Wednesday 3-:00 - 4:00 and by appointment 

 

Wilson, Hannah

Email: hannah.wilson@montana.edu Office: Trap 310 Phone: 994-3803
Spring 2017 Office Hours: Tuesdays 8:00 - 10:00, Thursdays 12:30 -1:30, and by appointment

 

List of current faculty (pdf)

Professors Emeritus

Block, Richard A. (Ph.D. 1973, University of Oregon). Emeritus Professor. Cognitive psychology: memory and attention, temporal information processing, psychology of time. block@montana.edu

Lynch, Wesley C. (Ph.D. 1971, University of New Mexico). Emeritus Professor. Psychology of motivated behavior, particularly eating, eating disorders, obesity, and the brain mechanisms of reinforcement. wlynch@montana.edu

Retired Faculty (Recent) 

Whitford, Fred (Bill) W.  Introductory Psychology; Abnormal Psychology. whitford@montana.edu.  External Web site: www.whitford-consulting.com

Affiliate Faculty

Moore, Colleen F. (Ph.D. 1978, University of Illinois). Early life effects on behavior such as prenatal alcohol, prenatal stress, and environmental pollutants. Risk perception and moral reasoning about hazards. colleen.moore1@montana.edu

Staff

Brenda Lewis
psydept@montana.edu
brenda.lewis1@montana.edu
(406) 994-3801
Fax (406) 994-3804