How the Women's Faculty Caucus began

The WFC is an advisory group that was first organized in 2006.

President Geoffrey Gamble and Provost David Dooley announced the formation of a steering committee to aid the faculty and the university in enhancing the opportunities for career advancement and the success, in teaching, scholarship, service and leadership of women among the faculty. Inaugural committee members were: Susan Capalbo (Director of Special Projects for Enhancing Diversity and Professor of Agricultural Economics), Lisa Graumlich (Executive Director of the Big Sky Institute and Professor of Land Resources and Environmental Sciences), and Cindy Stillwell (Associate Professor of Media and Theatre Arts). Both the President and Provost were delighted that these accomplished faculty were willing to provide leadership toward MSU's goal of establishing the kind of community where all faculty may excel.

Past WFC Chairs 

2016-2018: Suzanne Held and Leila Sterman

2014-2016: Meta Newhouse

Graham Austin

Beth Burroughs

Jessi Smith

2009-2011: Sara Rushing

2006- Susan Capalbo, Lisa Graumlich, and Cindy Stillwell

Past WFC Distinguished Mentor Award Honorees:

  • Elizabeth Bird, 2018
  • Mary Murphy, 2017
  • Tracy Sterling, 2016
  • Linda Young, 2015
  • Laura Black, 2014
  • Suzanne Held, 2013
  • Sarah Codd, 2012
  • Cathy Zabinski, 2011
  • Bridget Kevane, 2010