Residence Life / University Culinary Services Calendar

Residence Life

Please note that although the residence halls officially close over Thanksgiving, Winter, and Spring Break, students are still able to live on campus. Roskie, Johnstone, ResLife Apartments and the Headwaters Complex are open during each of the school holidays for break housing. There is an additional charge for students staying during these school holidays since break housing costs are not assessed to students who do not use our services.

Summer Semester 2017

Date Day of the Week Activity
May 6-14 Saturday - Sunday Interim #1 Session (For Spring 2017 Students Only)
May 14 Sunday Summer Residence Halls Open - 12:00pm
May 15  Monday  Summer Sessions Begin (12 Week and First 6 Week)
May 29 Monday Memorial Day - No Classes - Offices Closed
June 24 Saturday First 6 Week Session Ends
June 25 Sunday Housing for Second 6 Week Session Begins
June 26 Monday Second 6 Week Session Begins
July 4 Monday Independence Day Holiday - No Classes - Offices Closed
August 4 Friday Summer Sessions End (12 Week and Second 6 Week)
August 5 Saturday Residence Halls Close - 12:00pm
August 5-22 Saturday - Tuesday Interim #2 Session (For Summer Students transitioning to Fall 2017 Only)
     

Fall Semester 2017

Date Day Of The Week Activity
August 23 Wednesday Residence Halls open - 8:00am
First Meal - Welcome to MSU Dinner
August 23-25 Wednesday - Friday Orientation, Registration & Fee Payment
August 24 Thursday All Dining Halls Open for Breakfast
August 28 Monday Classes Begin
September 4 Monday Labor Day Holiday - No Classes - Offices Closed
November 10 Friday Veteran's Day Holiday - No Classes - Offices Closed
November 22-26 Wednesday - Sunday Thanksgiving Break
No classes from Nov. 22-24 - Offices are open on Nov. 22 but are closed Nov. 23-24
November 23 Thursday Miller Dining Commons Open - Thanksgiving Dinner: 12:00pm-3:00pm
November 24-25 Friday - Saturday Miller Dining Commons Open - Brunch: 10:00am-12:00pm, Dinner: 5:00pm-7:00pm
November 26 Sunday Miller Dining Commons Open - Brunch: 10:00am-12:00pm, Dinner: 4:30pm-7:00pm
Harrison Dining Hall Open - Dinner: 4:30pm-7:00pm
December 8 Friday Last Day of Classes
December 11-15 Monday - Friday Final Exams
December 15 Friday Last Meal - Harrison Dining Hall - Dinner: 4:30pm-7:00pm
(Miller Closes at 2:00pm on Friday, December 15)
December 16 Saturday Fall Commencement - Residence Halls Close - 1:00pm

Spring Semester 2018

Date Day Of The Week Activity
January 7 Sunday Residence Halls Open 12:00 p.m.
First Meal – Miller and Harrison Dining Halls - Dinner: 4:30pm-7:00pm
January 8-9 Monday - Tuesday Orientation & Registration 
January 10 Wednesday Classes Begin
January 15 Monday Martin Luther King Holiday – No Classes - Offices Closed
February 19 Monday Presidents’ Day Holiday – No Classes – Offices Closed
March 10-11 Saturday - Sunday Dining Halls Closed
March 12-16 Monday - Friday Spring Break - No Classes - Offices Open
Harrison Dining Hall Open - Brunch: 10:00am-12:00pm, Dinner: 5:00pm-7:00pm
March 17 Saturday Dining Halls Closed
March 18 Sunday Harrison Dining Hall Open - Brunch: 10:00am-12:00pm, Dinner: 4:30pm-7:00pm
Miller Dining Commons Open - Dinner: 4:30pm-7:00pm
March 30 Friday University Day – No Classes – Offices Open
April 27 Friday Last Day of Classes
April 30 - May 4 Monday - Friday Final Exams
May 4 Friday Last Meal - Harrison Dining Hall - Dinner: 4:30pm-7:00pm
(Miller Closes at 2:00pm on Friday, May 4)
May 5 Saturday Spring Commencement - Residence Halls Close – 3:00pm