Each College at MSU is represented by one council member, except the Colleges of Letters and Science, Arts & Architecture, and Education & Health and Human Development who have two representatives each to better represent the dual disciplines in these colleges. Members must be tenured or tenure-track faculty. Each member has one vote. In addition to the college representation, there is one full-time graduate student, who is in good standing that represents the Graduate Student body. Ex Officio non-voting members include the Dean of the Graduate School the Vice-Chair of the MSU Faculty Senate and the Graduate Student representative.

Council Members for 2017/2018

Name Position Represents
John Borkowski Chair Science (Letters & Science)
Ahmed Al-Kaisy Vice-Chair Engineering
Fabian Menalled Member Agriculture
Chris Livingston Member Architecture (Arts & Architecture)
Dennis Aig Member Arts (Arts & Architecture)
Marc Giullian Member Business
Tena Versland Member Education (EHHD)
Ann Ewbank Alternate Education (EHHD)
Anna Elliott Member Health & Human Development (EHHD)
Jim Becker Alternate Health & Human Development (EHHD)
Robert Rydell Member Letters (Letters & Science)
Jean Shreffler-Grant Member Nursing
vacant Staff Office of International Programs
Kathryn Bills Student Representative Earth Sciences
Abigail Richards Ex Officio Faculty Senate
Karlene Hoo Ex Officio Graduate School


Policy & Procedures


Shreffler-Grant Versland Aig
Curriculum Livingston Rydell  Becker Richards (alt)
Governance Borkowski Giullian Menalled