Faculty Name & Contact Information Research Interests
Eric Boyd PhD

Diane Bimczok, D.V.M., Ph. D.
Assistant Professor

406-994-4928
diane.bimczok@montana.edu

The Bimczok Lab is interested in the regulations of gastric antigen-presenting cell function in human H. pylori infection.

Eric Boyd PhD

Eric Boyd, Ph.D.
Associate Professor

406-994-7046
eboyd@montana.edu
 

Research in the Boyd Geobiology Group is focused on the ecology and evolution of extremophiles, metalloprotein evolution, astrobiology, and biotechnology. 

missing image

Sara Branco, Ph.D.
Assistant Professor 

406-994-2927
sara.branco@montana.edu

The Branco Lab studies the ecology and evolution of fungi. Specifically, we investigate how fungi colonize and persist in the environment, and are particularly interested in understanding the ecological factors determining fungal diversity.

Cargill Professional Portrait

Kari Cargill, M.S.
Senior Lecturer  

406-994-5675                                          kcargill@montana.edu

Interests: General microbiology; science education.

 Dan Coleman

Daniel Coleman
Research Assistant Professor


daniel.colman@montana.edu

 
Mensur Dlakic, Ph.D.

Mensur Dlakic, Ph.D.
Associate Professor

406-994-6576    
mdlakic@montana.edu

The Dlakic Lab is interested in ribosome synthesis in budding yeast; Protein evolution and 3D modeling of proteins; Structural polymorphism of DNA; Comparative genomics.

Matthew W. Fields, Ph.D., Interim Department Head

Matthew W. Fields, Ph.D.
Professor, Director, Center for Biofilm Engineering                                           

406-994-7340
matthew.fields@erc.montana.edu 

The Fields Lab is interested inanaerobic microbiology, physiology, and ecology, bioremediation, environmental genomics, applied methanogenesis, and biofuels.

Missing Image

Michael Franklin, Ph.D.
Professor  

406-994-5658
franklin@montana.edu
 

The Franklin Lab researches molecular genetics; microbial exopolymer production; physiology of sessile bacteria; alginate biosynthesis.

Sandra Halonen, Ph.D., Associate Professor

Sandra Halonen, Ph.D.
Associate Professor     

406-994-5351
shalonen@montana.edu 
 

Interests: Intracellular parasitism and host-parasite interactions. Research studies the interactions of T. gondii and N.canium with their host cells (neurons, astrocytes and microglia) in the central nervous system and the immune response in the brain to these parasites.

Missing Image

Mark Jutila, Ph.D.
Professor, Department Head
Regents Professor

406-994-2901
mark.jutila@montana.edu  

Interests: Inflammatory disease and developmental immunology; molecular events that control leukocyte entry into sites of acute and chronic inflammation. Analyses of gamma/delta T cells in the context of host immune responses and developmental immunology.

Keil

Deborah E. Keil, Ph.D., MLS. 
Assistant Professor

Deborah.Keil@montana.edu

The Keil Lab researches environmental toxicology, immunotoxicology, medical laboratory science, and clinical chemistry. 

missing photo Doug Kominsky, Ph.D.

Associate Professor

douglas.kominsky@montana.edu

The Kominsky Lab works to unravel the complex dynamics of inflammatory bowel diseases (IBD). These diseases, including Crohn’s disease and ulcerative colitis, have devastating impacts on people of all ages. Our research focuses on changes in microenvironmental metabolism and the role of these alterations in biological pathways that influence IBD pathogenesis.

Josh Obar

Benfang Lei, Ph.D. 
Associate Professor                                                 

406-994-6389
blei@montana.edu  

Research in my laboratory focuses on pathogenic and therapeutic studies on bacterial pathogens Streptococcus pyogenes and Streptococcus equi. My long-term objectives are to identify and study novel virulence factors and new therapeutic targets among extracellular proteins made by S. pyogenes and S. equi.

miss image

Raina Plowright, Ph.D.
Assistant Professor

406-579-5325 
raina.plowright@montana.edu 

Research in the Plowright Lab focuses on the dynamics of infectious diseases. We integrate field, lab and modeling approaches to study the dynamics of zoonotic pathogen spillover, the dynamics of diseases in wildlife reservoirs, and the effects of diseases on wildlife health. Our work has implications for public health, veterinary health and wildlife conservation.

Mark Quinn, Ph.D., Professor

Mark Quinn, Ph.D.
Professor, WIMU Director 

406-994-4707
mquinn@exchange.montana.edu 
 

The Quinn Lab is interested in understanding microbial mechanisms utilized by the innate immune cells in defense of the host against pathogens. 

Agnieszka Rynda-Apple, Ph.D.

Agnieszka Rynda-Apple, Ph.D.
Assistant Professor

406-994-7693
agnieszka.rynda@montana.edu

The Rynda-Apple Lab is interested in understanding how immune response to respiratory viruses shapes host susceptibility to subsequent bacterial infections.

Ed Schmidt, Associate Professor

Ed Schmidt, Ph.D.
Professor 

406-994-6375
eschmidt@montana.edu 
 

The Schmidt Lab uses advanced genetically engineered mouse models to investigate the intricate mechanisms that function in development and physiology. Our approaches include genetics, biochemistry, molecular biology, histology, genomics, and others. The biological processes we are studying include liver physiology and regeneration, aging, redox biology, cancer,  and embryonic development. 

Matthew Taylor, Ph.D.

Matthew Taylor, Ph.D.
Assistant Professor

406-994-7467
mptaylor@montana.edu

The Taylor Lab is interested in the intercellular spread of neuroinvasive viruses and how spread impacts pathogen evolution and pathogenesis.

Missing Image

Jovanka Voyich-Kane, Ph.D.
Professor, ANANCTR Director

406-994-7184
jovanka@montana.edu 
 

Long-term objective of research is to define the influence of sensory/regulatory systems on CA-MRSA virulence using clinically relevant strains.

Seth Walk, Assistant Professor, Ph.D.

Seth Walk, Ph.D. 
Associate Professor    

406-994-2649
seth.walk@montana.edu

The Walk Lab is interested in microbial ecology and evolution, GI tract microbiology and epidemiology of noscomial pathogens.

Blake Wiedenheft

Blake Wiedenheft, Ph.D.
Associate Professor     

406-994-5009
bwiedenheft@gmail.com

The Wiedenheft Lab aims to determine the mechanisms of CRISPR RNA-guided adaptive immunity in bacteria and to leverage mechanistic insights for applications in genome engineering.

Missing Image

Jodi Hedges, Ph.D.
Assistant Research Professor  

406-994-6384
jhedges@montana.edu

 

Rebecca Mattix, D.V.M. Veterinary Science

Rebecca Mattix, D.V.M. 
Assistant Professor    

406-994-5598
rmattix@exchange.montana.edu 

 

Heini Miettinen, Associate Research Professor

Heini Miettinen, Ph.D.
Associate Research Professor

406-994-4014
heini@montana.edu 
 

Interests: The Miettinen Lab researches the function and regulation of human chemoattractant receptors.

KayRasmussen

Kay Rasmussen, MS, MLS(ASCP)
Instructor, MMLS Director

406-994-5664
kay.rasmussen@montana.edu

Interests: Medical Laboratory Science Training Program; science education and research in higher education.

 Silhouette

Alison Mizner
MMLS Associate Director

406-994-3961
alison.mizner@montana.edu

 

Mari Eggers

Margaret Eggers
Research Assistant Professor

406-994-3064
mari.eggers@montana.edu

Interests: Community-engaged research on metals and microbial contamination of surface and groundwaters; Assessing and mitigating human health risks from unsafe drinking water; Tribal environmental health; environmental health education.

 Steve Swain

Steve Swain, Ph.D.
AssistantResearchProfessor     

406-994-7693
uvsss@montana.edu 
 

 
 Tyler Nygaard

Tyler Nygaard
Research Assistant Professor


tyler.nygaard@montana.edu

 
 Heidi Smith

Heidi Smith
Research Assistant Professor

406-994-7813
Heidi.smith@montana.edu

 
 Gary Stoner

Gary Stoner
Research Professor

614-519-5659
gstoner@montana.edu