2015 Orientation Leaders

Application Form

Each semester MSU coordinates several Orientation sessions to welcome new students and parents. These sessions are essential to new students-helping them gain information about, and familiarize themselves with, many facets of the University. The dates for all sessions are listed below.

Orientation Leaders

We are very proud that the success of our Orientation Program is due in large part to the quality, ability, and dedication of Student Orientation Leaders. Trained in such areas as communication skills, leadership and presentation of factual information, paid Orientation Leaders work closely with new freshmen, transfers, and parents. They also develop a close working relationship with MSU administrators and faculty while assisting with academic advising and the registration process.

Student Orientation Leaders should be knowledgeable about campus activities, campus life and various services offered by the University. Each leader must accept the responsibility to attend the Orientation leader class and to work all sessions including sunday training.

REQUIREMENTS

All interested applicants must be:

  1. of freshman through graduate standing in the fall of 2014.
  2. in good academic standing (preferable grade point average of 2.5 or above).
  3. interested in and able to work closely with others.
  4. completely committed to all classes, retreat and Orientation Program dates, including Sunday training.

TRAINING

Leaders will participate in a training course spring semester, 2015. HDCO 460, a two 400 level credit class, meets twice a week, from 4:30 - 6:00 p.m. on Tuesdays and Thursdays, and is required of all leaders. A mandatory retreat, held from 5:00 p.m. Friday to 5:00 p.m. Saturday, January 23-24, 2015, is also part of the training process.

ORIENTATION DATES

Orientation Leaders will be paid for the Orientation sessions:  $300/summer Orientation session (total of 3), $200/fall Orientation session (total of 1), $70/spring Orientation session (total of 1).

Monday-Wednesday, June 8-10, 2015 (Freshman). Training on Sunday, June 7.
Monday-Wednesday, June 22-24, 2015 (Freshman). Training on Sunday, June 21.
Monday-Wednesday, July 13-15, 2015 (Freshman). Training on Sunday, July 12.
Wednesday-Friday, August 19-21, 2015 (Fall Freshman & Transfer). Training on Tuesday, August 18.
Monday-Tuesday, January 11-12, 2016 (Spring Freshman & Transfer). Training on Sunday, January 10.

INFORMATION MEETINGS

There will be 4 information meetings to answer any questions about this position and the Orientation Program.

Wednesday, November 5, 2014 at 6:00 p.m. in SUB 230
Thursday, November 6, 2014 at 11:00 a.m. in SUB 232
Thursday, November 6, 2014 at 6:00 p.m. in SUB 232
Wednesday, November 12, 2014 at 6:00 p.m. in SUB 232

APPLICATION DEADLINE

Friday, November 14 at 5:00 p.m.
Admissions Office - 201 Strand Union Building (SUB)


 

APPLY HERE