Transferring to MSU


Transfer students at MSU have many opportunities and resources available to them. We encourage you to visit our campus, but some of you will have questions before that time and will find it helpful to "read on" for more information.

Transfer students sitting on a porch

 

The information that follows provides you with some useful tools and guidelines as well as the recommended steps to take in order to complete the process of transferring to MSU.

Also on this page you will find a list of the e-mail addresses of several MSU staff who are willing to advise you (even before you officially enter the doors of our campus!). Please feel free to contact any one of them or the Office of Admissions if you need any assistance!

We look forward to welcoming you as a new transfer student to Montana State University!


Tips for a Successful Transfer Experience

Inquire

First, it is worthwhile to find out as much as possible about MSU in Bozeman in terms of community information, general university requirements, available programs, specific program requirements, and residential living. You've already initiated this step by checking out our website.

Apply

Apply for Admission: Obtain and submit an application to MSU Office of Admissions by these recommended priority dates:
  • July 1 for any fall term of the year you wish to attend,
  • December 1 for spring term, and
  • May 1 for summer term

ALL official transcripts must be sent to the Office of Admissions, and if you are currently enrolled in another institution, have final transcripts sent as soon as courses are completed (partial transcripts with a posted GPA are used for admission purposes, but final official transcripts are required to complete a formal credit evaluation).

  • A cumulative transferable grade-point average (GPA), as determined by MSU, of 2.0 or C on a four-point scale is required in order to be accepted for admission in good standing.
  • If your average GPA is below 2.0, you may be accepted on "Probationary Status" with the provision that you are required to obtain a minimum 2.0 GPA your first term of attendance at MSU in order to continue as a student at this institution.

Transcripts

All college level, degree applicable credits recorded on official transcripts from institutions that are regionally accredited at the time of your attendance will transfer. Official transcripts must be requested and sent directly from the institution to: MSU Office of Admissions, 201 Strand Union Building (SUB), P.O. Box 172190, Bozeman, MT 59717-2190. Please note that all faxed out-of-state transcripts are considered unofficial. However, those faxed directly from another Montana University System in-state institution with a macrao-fax stamp are accepted as official.

Evaluations

    • An UNOFFICIAL self-evaluation of course work can be accessed through our Transfer Course Equivalency Guide, available online. This information can be printed from the web and is for reference only, but will be a helpful resource when you are being advised. The equivalencies listed are the most current and subject to change. If a course or institution is not listed it does not necessarily mean that the course will not transfer, just that the information is not yet in our database system.

  • 2) OFFICIAL evaluations of transfer credits will be processed by your Admissions Evaluator in the Office of Admissions only after ALL FINAL and OFFICIAL transcripts have been received for each applicant. A final transcript is one that posts ALL graded coursework through your final term of attendance at each institution. Your Admissions Evaluator will determine the equivalency of the transfer course work to MSU in Bozeman. The Office of Admissions also determines which courses fulfill University Core requirements. Catalogs are used to determine course level and content. The transfer course description is compared to the MSU course description. Courses generally matching in credit amount, level, and content are considered equivalent. Courses not matching are granted elective credit or elective credit with core.

PLEASE NOTE: An evaluation will not be done for students who have previously earned a U.S. baccalaureate degree. University Core requirements are complete for these students. 

Follow Up

Contact your department. Departments can REVIEW your work and RECOMMEND a schedule for your first term. It is helpful to bring (or send) a copy of your unofficial coursework to the department for review. Colleges/departments also provide advisors who can review coursework and discuss specific degree requirements and credentials with transfer students. Departments should be prepared for substitution inquiries and follow up appointments. The Office of Admissions determines equivalency of courses; departments may substitute transfer course work for degree requirements. Departments should also instruct students on procedures for course substitutions (including providing any forms necessary).

NOTE: The departments/colleges do not have the discretion to substitute within the following categories of University requirements: University Core, upper division requirements or total credit requirements. If you have questions about departmental substitutions, contact your department or advisor and update your course plan after you receive your official evaluation.

Orientation

As a final step in the process there are two options. You are required to fulfill either a personal orientation by scheduling an individual advising appointment with your department or attend a formal group orientation offered before each term. You need to familiarize yourself with MSU's policies and procedures. Be prepared. Bring the following:
  • a copy of your grade transcript
  • course syllabi and/or catalogs from previous schools to show your academic advisor what course content you have already completed
  • a copy of ACT/SAT scores (only necessary for Math Placement purposes if a student has no previous record of completing some form of college level, non-remedial math)

In addition, the Orientation Office will provide a list of departmental phone number and locations as well as a transfer orientation/registration checklist. The Math department provides assistance with math placement, either through testing or ACT/SAT score interpretation.

 

Campus Advising Contacts


Primary contact for the University's transfer students. If you have questions or need information, please contact the Admissions Office at 1-888-MSU-CATS (toll free) or by e-mail at admissions@montana.edu.

College & Department

Advisor

Phone

E-Mail Address

Location

College of Agriculture 406-994-  

General Agriculture

Jessica Murdock

5744

jessica.murdock@montana.edu

202 Linfield

Agricultural Economics/ Economics

Jane Boyd

3702

aboyd@montana.edu

306 Linfield

Agricultural Education

Melany Cheeseman

2132

melany.cheeseman@montana.edu

230 Linfield

Animal & Range Sciences

Denise Thompson

5582

deniset@montana.edu

203 Animal Bioscience

Immunology & Infectious Diseases

       

Pre-Vet

Jessica Murdock

5744

jessica.murdock@montana.edu

202 Linfield

Land Resources & Environmental Sciences

Linda McDonald

3090

lindam@montana.edu

334 Leon Johnson

Plant Sciences & Plant Pathology

Jill Scarson

4832

jscarson@montana.edu

324 Leon Johnson

Cross college departments:

       

Biotechnology

Andreas Fischer

5908

fischer@montana.edu

210 Plant Bioscience

Sustainable Foods & Bioenergy Systems

Jessica Murdock

5744

jessica.murdock@montana.edu

202 Linfield

 College of Art & Architecture

Architecture

Rachael Ortego

5772

rortego@montana.edu

140 Cheever

Art

Mandi McCarthy-Rogers

4503

mmrogers@montana.edu

213 Haynes

Film & Photography

Vicki Miller

2484

vmiller@montana.edu

202 VCB (Front Desk)

Music

Office Assigns Advisors

3562

keggemeyer@montana.edu

189 Howard

 

College of Business

Business

Office Assigns Advisors

4681

business@montana.edu

338 Reid

 College of Education, Health, & Human Development

Elementary & Secondary Education

Cyndi Meldahl

1880

cmeldahl@montana.edu

132 Reid

Technology Education

Scott Davis

5775

sedavis@montana.edu

210 Reid

Health & Human Development

HHD Advising Center

4001

hhdadvising@montana.edu

121 H&PE Complex

 College of Engineering

General Engineering

Judi Haskins

2272

jhaskins@montana.edu

212 Roberts

Chemical & Biological Engineering

Shelley Thomas

2221

ShelleyT@coe.montana.edu

306 Cobleigh

Civil Engineering/Construction Engineering Technology

Renee Hecox

2112

reneeh@ce.montana.edu

205 Cobleigh

Computer Science

Office Assigns Advisors

4780

csinfo@cs.montana.edu

357 EPS

Electrical & Computer Engineering

Office Assigns Advisors

2505

ecedept@ece.montana.edu

610 Cobleigh

Industrial Engineering

Bill Schell

5938

wschell@ie.montana.edu

403 Roberts

Mechanical Engineering/Mechanical Engineering Tech.

Office Assigns Advisors

2203

kathy.campbell@montana.edu

220 Roberts

College of Letters & Science

Agricultural Economics/ Economics

Jane Boyd

3702

aboyd@montana.edu

306 Linfield

American Studies

Teresa Greenwood

5936

tgrnwd@montana.edu

130 Gaines

Cell Biology & Neuroscience

Lisa Musgrave

5120

cellbio.msu@gmail.com

510 Leon Johnson

Chemistry & Biochemistry

Steve Holmgren

5393

holmgren@chemistry.montana.edu

305 Gaines

Earth Sciences

Office Assigns Advisors

3331

earth@montana.edu

200 Traphagen

Ecology

Office Assigns Advisors

4548

jvanandel@montana.edu

310 Lewis

English

Office Assigns Advisors

3768

dept@english.montana.edu

2-176 Wilson

History, Philosophy, & Religious Studies

Office Assigns Advisors

4395

dmanry@montana.edu

2-155 Wilson

Liberal Studies

Teresa Greenwood

5936

tgrnwd@montana.edu

2-205 Wilson

Mathematical Sciences

Office Assigns Advisors

3601

math@math.montana.edu

2-214 Wilson

Microbiology

Kari Cargill

5675

kcargill@montana.edu

104A Lewis

Modern Languages & Literatures

Tracy Knudson

4448

tracy@montana.edu

117 Gaines

Native American Studies

Walter Fleming

5260

wfleming@montana.edu

1 Wilson

Physics

Dana Longcope

7851

longcope@physics.montana.edu

260D EPS

Political Science

Office Assigns Advisors

4141

banderson@montana.edu

2-143 Wilson

Pre-Med Professional Advising

Sheila Nielsen-Preiss

1670

hpa@montana.edu

317 Leon Johnson

Pre-Med Academic Advising

Academic Advising Center

3532

advising@montana.edu

130 Gaines

Psychology

Brenda Lewis

3801

psydept@montana.edu

325 Traphagen

Sociology & Anthropology

Leslie Crismond

4201

crismond@montana.edu

2-128 Wilson

 College of Nursing

Nursing, Bozeman campus

Melissa Gutzman

2660

melissak@montana.edu

109 Sherrick

Caring for Our Own Program (CO-OP)

Jenny Gorsegner

5711

jennifer.gorsegner@montana.edu

203 Sherrick

 University College

Honors Program

Tommy Donovan

2822

feelslikerain9@yahoo.com

Quad F

University Studies (undeclared)

Academic Advising Center

3532

advising@montana.edu

130 Gaines

 Gallatin College Programs

Workforce Programs

Nicole Berg

5595

nicole.berg@montana.edu

201 Hamilton

Pre-University Studies (undeclared)

Paige Wyatt

7160

paige.wyatt@montana.edu

101 Hamilton

 Non-departmental advising

American IndianStudentCenter

Rita Sand

3334

rsand@montana.edu

1 Wilson

Athletics Academic Center

Jamie Rizzuto

6130

jamie.rizzuto@montana.edu

133A Fieldhouse

Disability, Re-Entry, & Veteran's Services

Brenda York

2824

byork@montana.edu

180 SUB

Health Professions Advising

Sheila Nielsen-Preiss

1670

hpa@montana.edu

317 Leon Johnson

International Programs

Debra De Bode

7180

debode@montana.edu

400 Culbertson

Air Force ROTC

Capt. Lucas Bergert

4022

afrotc@montana.edu

318 Hamilton

Army ROTC

Mjr. Darren Purcell

5476

DPurcell@montana.edu

305 Hamilton