Toddler PointingHand weight with apple and measuring tapeWoman focused laying on lawnBasket of TomatoesSnowboarder in air grabbing the tail of the snowboardTeens smiling at a tablehappyhydratebluesky

The field of human development and family science is dedicated to enhancing the relationships among individuals, families, communities and the environments in which they function. The educational and professional field of human development and family science take leadership in improving individual, family, and community well-being; impacting the development, delivery, and evaluation of consumer goods and services; influencing the creation of policy; and shaping societal change, thereby enhancing the human condition.

Students in Human Development and Family Science take foundation courses in content areas based upon the American Association of Family and Consumer Sciences (AAFCS) and the National Council on Family Relations (NCFR) standards. In addition, students take restricted supporting courses in the program.

There are two options available within the major:

There are also three minors available that are related to the major:

Faculty

Sandy Bailey

Professor

baileys@montana.edu

406 994.6745

316B HH

Kimberly Hartman, MS

NTT Instructor

kimberly.hartman2@montana.edu

406 994-3284

205 HH

Deborah Haynes

Department Head; Assoc Professor

dhaynes@montana.edu

406 994.3244

219A HH

Holly Hunts

Assoc Professor

hhunts@montana.edu

406 994-7993

222 HH

Wendy Morrison

NTT Instructor

wbianchini@montana.edu

406 994-6075

318C HH

Sandy Osborne

Assoc Professor

osborne@montana.edu

406 994-5007

312 HH

Mitch Vaterlaus

Asst Professor and Program Leader

j.vaterlaus@montana.edu

406 994-3229

122 HH

 Nicole Wanago, MS

NTT Instructor

nicole.wanago@montana.edu

406 994-5006